Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This cake is OUTSTANDING!! It not only looks professional, but it even tastes as good or even better. All of the components are good the flavored whipped cream, the mascarpone cheese, the cake, and the chocolate. I was looking for a cake for a birthday and I decided to make this one. It was much more affordable than buying a similar fancy cake to. Not including the liqueur, it cost me $11 dollars to buy all of the ingredients which I basically didn't have. I was very tempted to decorate it my own way. However, after reading all of the great reviews I decided to make and decorated it exactly, which is rare. I am glad I did, because it really gives the cake that tiramisu appearance. The directions were so precise, and easy to follow, and I loved the fancy yet easy chocolate curl technique. Thank you, for posting such a nice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Only change I made was to used doubldbthe kahlua in the batter....taste tested it making it as listed before baking and it needs more flavor....easily fixed kith more liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by essensual911
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe almost to the T, except I increase the instant espresso powder to 2 tablespoons for 2 dark layers (and one white) and double coffee flavored liquer through out (Hazelnut Bailey). Mascarpone cheese tastes delicate and beautiful while cream cheese has a subtle sour flavor so mascarpone wins in this recipe. The double thick cream whipped up like a dream for frosting and so easy to spread. The amounts of filling and frosting are perfect for a 9-inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Absolutely amazing and recipe is easy to follow. I have made this at least 5 times now and always goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was easy and a great way to make tiramisu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this for my daughters' birthday party. Everyone loved it. I have made a lot of cakes and this one was by far the favorite. I would definitely double the Kahlua and I used 1/2-3/4 cup of coffee. I put coffee in two layers of cake. My only problem was I used an instant coffee that was like little chips. It turned out fine, looked like chocolate chips, but I let the cakes sit overnight to soften the coffee pieces and I assembled the cake the next morning. Everyone raved, even the kids. Not one piece of cake was leftover. People were pre-ordering for their birthdays. Thanks for the great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Reba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was an awesome recipe! I do think I may have used 8" pans so I had a lot of filling left over, but it was a hit - just enough coffee flavor and not overly sweet. I would love to make it more often, but mascarpone isn't cheap. May try subbing neufchatel next go around. Great recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delish! Everyone loved it and wanted seconds. Made with inexpensive instant coffee and upped the amount of liquor as suggested. Would like to add more chocolate/cocoa next time.Definitely my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This may be the best cake I have ever made. It is absolutely delicious. My mom requests I make this for her birthday every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for my husband to take to an italian themed potluck at work, and they RAVED over this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States