Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by GoddessExtreme
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Omg!! This cake is the best cake in the world! I baked it for my sister's 18th birthday, there was no one in the house who didn't have a second slice! I have made it quiet a few times after this, it has really become a family/friend favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoddessExtreme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
fabulous cake in spite of not being able to buy whipping cream in our town for the authentic frosting. I used the imitation whipped cream frosting available on this web site, which was acceptable but not as good, especially when I added Kahlua to it and it separated slightly. I will definitely make again when I can get to Morelia to buy the right cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is wonderful and will be even better next time, when I soak the cake in at least twice as much coffee and liqueur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This cake turned out delicious. I don't know what I did wrong with the frosting. I followed the recipe and it turned out really watery and just slopped on instead of spread. I tried freezes it to thicken it up and that didn't even work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Wonderful cake. It got rave reviews from my fam and friends. For those of us who only keep 2 cake pans on hand...divide the batter in half, not thirds. When the cakes have cooled simply slice the cake in half. Now you have 2 coffee and 2 white layers. I couldn't decide which filling to use since everyone kept arguing over which is better. I bought a 8oz $7 tub of marscapone and a brick of the cream cheese. After mixing up my own with the sour cream and whipping cream my verdict is that the subtle difference between the two is not worth the cost. It tastes almost exactly the same...kinda weird until you add the sugar and booze. I made the coffee really strong and added instant esspresso powder and coffee liquor. The coffee taste really isn't that strong after baking. After they cooled I used a silicon pastry brush to baste my cakes. It worked really well. It was much easier to control the amount of liquid on the cake vs. pouring it from a cup. I also beat my whipping cream on med. for 4 min then on high for the last two. badda bing nummy whipped cream at just the right consistancy. I also didn't add the liquor until I started the last two min. and the cream was already thicker. This cake was much easier to put together than the recipe would lead you to believe. Don't be scared. Give this recipe a try. It's very impressive to most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This cake was fantastic!!!!!! I didn't change a thing, I made it just as is and it was the hit of the day during my Italian Fiesta dinner. DELICIOUS! Great flavor! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
The flavors were excellent, but the cake part with the coffee mix in didn't want to come out of the pan without falling apart. I looked horrible, but the taste excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Yummy! We made this cake for my dad for Father's Day and we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful Justice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this for Christmas eve dinner with my husband and it was delicious! I over beat the whipped cream frosting but what a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was good but I took the reviews and and listened on adding the extra on the coffee and kahula and kinda wish I hadn't. The kahula was a little stronger than it needed to be for Tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States