Tiramisu Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I really struggled with this recipe. For one thing, there were no 18.25 oz cake mixes in any of the three stores I went to. Maybe they're making them smaller than when this recipe was originally posted. The largest I could find was 16.5 oz and my layers came out looking like pancakes. I threw the first batch out, went back to the store and bought two more mixes. I baked the first with the coffee, splitting the batter between two pans and, by the way, I added the instant coffee to the cup of water called for with the mix. Then I made the second mix with just white. I put one layer in the freezer, so had one white and two coffee. I made the filling, did the poking, brushed on a half cup of coffee and liquor, using instant, put the layers together and went to bed. So that took several hours. The next morning, I woke up and watched the video again and realized I needed to put some of the filling in the frosting. It doesn't mention that in the ingredients; only in the instructions. I had to disassemble my layers, scrape off some filling full of crumbs and put it back together. I made three cups of whipped cream and had far more than I could put on my now giant cake. But I served the extra alongside, so people could add more. Everyone loved it, so I guess that's the bottom line. But it takes far longer than two hours, when you factor in the time to let the layers and filling cool and the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaelhusky
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Have made several times-and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I liked the recipe although next time ill try makin cake from scratch because I do not like cake box mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Easiest and most successful I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Easiest, most delicious tiramisu. Always gets rave reviews from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OccasionalChef
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I won first place in my company's bake-off with this cake against some pretty stiff competition -- and it was the first time I'd done anything like this. Never made a layer cake before. But it was surprisingly easy. Some people talked about mascarpone being really expensive, but I found it at my local grocery store for $5.99. Didn't seem too bad (considering the substitute ingredients I read about would probably cost close to that). I followed the advice of others and made two layers with the instant coffee and one layer of plain cake. Worked great! Also, I've made this cake twice, and the second time I made the cake layers in advance, wrapped them in plastic wrap, and kept them in the fridge over night. Then I finished the rest of the cake the next day. Tasted just as great as the first time I made it all in one day. I had never made chocolate curls before, but it was really easy with a simple chocolate bar and vegetable peeler. Also, I used a basic mesh strainer for a fine cocoa powder on the top. Looked just like the photos! The video really helped, too. I'd watch that first (and again while cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I also doubled the liquor, stuck with 3 layers and it was amazing! Everyone loved it just be sure to chill for at least 3-4 hours if your going to travel with it because the whipped topping softens quickly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kimberley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is excellent made exactly as recipe states. I'm no professional baker but I've made this twice with superb results! I wouldn't change a thing. And at least in my area, the mascarpone cheese is no more expensive than the cost of adding up the ingredients of the so called substitute for it that some reviewers propose. I don't think it needs anymore coffee flavor than what it has made as stated. You want the perfect blend of coffee flavor along with the other flavors the cake imparts. It's perfect as it is but... As the saying goes... Different strokes for different folks. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Thanks for the recipe. Looks so pretty and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States