Tiramisu IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is so easy and I love that there are no eggs in it. It tastes just as good as "classic" tiramisu! I made it with the slight changes recommended by Leslie A. and it came out great, travelled well, and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This recipe could easily be the best Tiramisu you've ever had if you make the following simple changes: 1.) For an authentic Tiramisu you ALWAYS use Marscapone cheese and NEVER cream cheese! 2.) A Tiramisu should be LIGHTLY sweet, but not overpowering, so add about 5 sachets of vanilla sugar in place of the vanilla extract. (If you don't know what that is, add 3-4 Tablespoons of sugar, to taste along with the vanilla extract. 3.) It's better made the day before so the flavors have time to meld. If you don't have time, at least give it 8 hours. Note: I make it this way and everyone tells me it's better than a restaurant's and there's NO raw eggs to worry about. Try it with the changes and you WON'T be disappointed! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I gave this five stars despite my disappointment, because I didnt' follow this recipe 100%. I combined this one with the "tiramisu II recipe." Don't do that!!!!! It lacked serious flavor, and I'm not even sure what that flavor was. I make desserts pretty often, and am usually capable of twisting recipes to make them better. Not this time. I used marscapone cheese instead of cream cheese, and also did use 6 egg yolks with 2/3 cup of sugar brought to a boil, chilled in the fridge for an hour, and and mixed it in with the marscapone mixture. I feel like this would have been more enjoyable with kahlua or rum, but the amaretto seemed to be bland. It definitely needs to be refrigerated for more than one hour. Let it stay chilled for 1 to 2 days to let all the flavors run together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was excellent and got rave reviews. I used the suggestions made by Leslie A. (marscapone and sugar) and made a few other adjustments. 1- I increased the amount of marscapone to 16oz. total. I think it needs a thicker layer of both creams, but I did not adjust the amt of liquid I mixed it with and it came out nice and firm and held a nice shape on the plate. I was surprised how loose the Coffee/Liquor/Cheese mix was but it chilled nicely. 2-I used Kahlua instead of Amaretto Also, since Ladyfingers come in different textures (the traditional crispy biscuit or a spongecake version) I was unsure how it would turn out as this recipe didn't specify. I selected the Crispy Ladyfingers and let them soak in the coffee/liquor for about 5 mins. Turned out just right! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Ok, I made this tiramisù last night, following suggestions from other reviewers - I added about 3 tablespoons of sugar to the cream, used marscapone (of course), and refrigerated it for about three hours before eating it. It was ok... didn't really taste like tiramisù, but it tasted good. A little too much vanilla, in my opinion. But today i took it out to have a small bite after lunch.... 100 times better than last night!!!! It really helped to let the tiramisù sit over night in the refrigerator. It was excellent!!!! I still wouldn't say restaurant quality, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larisagrujic
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Last night when I made it, I was about to write that it was a huge disappointment. In the morning, I changed my mind and gave it 5 stars. I did not use amaretto, also doubled the mascarpone, halved the coffee, added vanilla sugar as suggested by someone. The coffee part was so runny that I thought the cake would be liquid and impossible to serve. Anyway, I put it in the fridge over night and in the morning it turned out to be the best tiramisu ever :). So, it's really important to keep it in the fridge for a night to get the ladyfingers soaked and the cream in shape :). I love that it has no eggs and is much lower in calories. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larisagrujic
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was my first time making a tiramisu and I am quite pleased with this recipe. I like that is contains no egg. The small changes I made was I swapped the cream cheese for mascarpone cheese that already had espresso in it. I used a shot of espresso in place of amaretto since I don't have amaretto. I also added a little powdered sugar to the homemade whipped cream before whisking it to stiff peaks. Perfectly flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I just made it. I haven't tried it yet, because I literally just put it in the refrigerator. Notes thus far. I used the mascarpone, not cream cheese. I added the vanilla sugar instead of vanilla. I used 3/4 cups of coffee (double strength recipe from my coffee pot, with Maxwell House master blend). I used slightly more whipping cream. I got a pint, and used the whole thing. I felt like I didn't have enough of the layers. I think,although I will have to officially wait until morning when I try it, that I will likely double the recipe for the layers. I thought when I was putting it together that it was a rather light covering. I'm not certain there will be enough of the coffee mixture to soak in to the lady fingers. I'll update the results when I eat some. But for now, I think I'll be doubling them next round. Although, the taste was good (one always has to lick the bowl, you know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
nette, your tiramisu was fantastic, I have been tried your recipe, but I change the amaretto liquer with lemon juice and plain water. thank you very much, don't forget your mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this on a Thursday night as a test run for a party. I had planned on making some changes and re-maiking it and I forgot and ended up eating my practice one at breakfast on sunday and wow was it good. It was OK on Friday but by Sunday it was fabulous. I was very skeptical when I made it because it did not look appetizing but I loved it. I highly recomend I was just say leave it in the fridge for 48hours!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States