Tiramisu III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Well, my first time making, and boy I was impressed. I compared recipes and many were similar but the quantities in this recipe were easy to acquire and assemble NO WASTE ie: only needing 1 tub of cheese, 250 ml (1 cup) of whippig cream etc. Only thing I wished being a virgin TIRAMSU maker was to have a bit more detail about the importance of creaming the cheese before adding the egg custard, I did well but if wasn't perfect. So my tip would be to have the cheese room temp and use a heavy duty rubber spatula to work the cheese so it is soft and NOT curduy, but then again it could have been my brand of cheese. LOVED THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This is a very good tiramisu. By using a zabaglione the problem of uncooked eggs is eliminated. Make sure to use sweet marsala. There is a recipe for ladyfingers submitted by Roxanne that is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I have made this twice and will make this again and again. VERY GOOD! I made a couple of changes I didn't have the Marsala but I substituted Brandy and the second time White Rum. I didn't add any alcohol to the coffee mixture there was enough flavour from custard mixture; also this is a good way to make so children and adults who don't want or can't have the extra alcohol. Instead of dusting with cocoa powder I grated finely bittersweet chocolate over top. Did I say how Good this is well it is Really Good .Try this one and you may not go back to cheesecake, and I love cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a wonderful tiramisu recipe. What most people don't realize is that the "store bought" or often times "restaurant served" tiramisu is a knockoff that leaves much to be desired. Tiramisu is meant to have strong flavors to be truly Italian. I make this every time my office has a "food day". It's gotten to the point that when word goes out we are having a potluck, I am bombarded with emails ensuring that I will be bringing the tiramisu. PLEASE NOTE - this recipe is meant to be made ahead of time and chilled, preferably overnight. Rushing this dish will result in your disappointment and in a crunchy layer of ladyfingers and lumpy cheese mixture. To properly make tiramisu takes time and patience. I am Italian and it has taken me years to perfect tiramisu because of the time involved to make it correctly. If you make this properly, between the chill times and actual work times, it should take about 3 hours BEFORE you chill it, which should preferably be overnight or at least 4-5 hours. If you take your time and are patient and ensure that your mascarpone mixture is lump-free, you will have wonderful success with tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
My first Tiramisu and it came out very well. The only substitution I made was Kahlua instead of brandy for soaking the ladyfingers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe is very authentic Italian! When we were in Italy a year ago, we tried many tiramisus...and this one is very much like all the Italian ones...and even better than some of those. As far as the zabalione, and whipped cream layers, I added a little more, as the layers were a little thin. So I use about 1 1/2 of everything the recipe calls for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This wasn't as hard to make as I had originally thought. At first I thought the zabaglione tasted too "eggy" but when it was combined with all the other ingredients and left in the refrigerator for most of the day the final product tasted superb. I served it to friends (who I later found out were Tiramisu connoisseurs and had eaten it all over the world) and they said it was very good. Now I don't have to order Tiramisu at restaurants...I can make it at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I hate it when people "redo" a recipe that they have given 5 stars, however I am putting in my two cents worth. I am not sure that I have had a tiramisu before but it is my sis's fav so I tried it. She loved it and said it got better over time. I am making it again for the second time for my step-daughter. I used a 9 by 9 and made 1 1/2 times the mixture to fill my pan. I used Godiva Choc. liqueur in place of brandy. I also grinded up dark choc and milk choc covered espresso beans and sprinkled on top along with the cocoa. The soft ladyfingers from Trader Joe's worked great. I am not sure if this is what true tiramisu is supposed to taste like, but I really enjoyed it and will make again for special occasions. Thanks for the great recipe (and sorry for the revisions!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
A bit disappointed. I served this anyway since I spent so much money on the brandy and the Marsala wine. I think the problem was that it tasted too "eggy". I would only add 4 yolks, not 5. Also, it did not have the light, airy taste of the cafe Tiramisu. I also recommend adding more than 1 TBS liquid to the lady fingers, it took a full day for them to lose their "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Wow! What an EXCELLENT recipe. I wouldn't change a thing about it. Def. should have Marscapone cheese & Marsala wine (dont skip these). My husand loved it! Perfect dessert for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States