Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this for the umpteenth time today, I agree with those who say increase the coffee/liquor, otherwise it is wonderful as is. For those who expect this recipe to tell them what to do with the egg whites, understand that this recipe does not call for egg whites. You are free to add them, it is your dessert and you are free to change the recipe. But this one and I wager most classic tiramisus do not have e.g. whites. You could use them in another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe! I doubled the coffee and rum the first time, but felt it wasn't enough. When I made it the second time, I made sure the lady fingers were about half way saturated. Turned out much better. This recipe is delicious and seems foolproof. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
First time making tiramisu and not only did it turn out amazing but everyone raved how great it was!!!! I did double the rum and coffee as was suggested and left the sugar measurement the same as called for! Absolutely delish and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Looked at several other reviews and yes, 1) Double up on the coffee/rum (I actually tripled) 2) Make this at LEAST a day in advance, two is better, at day three - even the cream had a nice coffee taste. 3) Soak the lady fingers for a couple of seconds, and I think folding the whipped cream with the chilled mascarpone/custard at the end not only saves time but the texture and taste are pretty extraordinary than the regular way. All in all, this is by far the best Tiramisu recipe, hands down. Made this for my husbands birthday and the guests thought I bought it from the 5 star Italian restaurant. One of the guests told me flat out he hates cake, got him to try a bite and ended up eating a big piece. So worth it, definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Omg it's so freaking good that i decided to sign up and write a review! The custard is so rich and creamy and so so so delicious!!!! I love it!!!!! Everthing is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I chose this recipe because it was the first one that I saw, but it turned out really well! I did, however, leave out the rum. I also made a substitute for the mascarpone cheese because it is not available in my area (cream cheese, sour cream, heavy whipping cream). The creamy cheese filling was definitely the best part! I would make this again, using my slightly modified recipe. It is easier than it looks! And it got rave reviews from my family. Oh, also, I did not have to split the ladyfingers that I bought -- not sure what brands you can find, but sometimes they are called Savoiardi Biscuits. They were the perfect size to fit two rows in a 9 x 13" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great tiramisu!!! Everyone loved it. I did end up using sliced pound cake instead of lady fingers because I couldn't find any at the store. And I used creme de cocoa instead of rum. I dipped the sliced pound cake so It wouldn't come out too soggy! And just like the previous reviews , I doubled the coffee and creme de cocoa. Overall it was so tasty!! I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a very good recipe! The only thing I would change is next time I'll be adding some powdered sugar to the whipped cream for some sweetness. Other than that, it was great! And fairly easy to make too. I will deff be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was THE BEST recipe! You really have to allow it to settle for at least 24 hours if not 2 full days before you eat it. All the ingredients really come together beautifully. I use the soft kind of lady fingers and I also use 1 full cup of good coffee (the cheap stuff is usually more acidic) and 1/2 cup Kahlua. I dip some of the lady fingers in the coffee/Kahlua mixture, but not all; I don't want them too soggy - The rest I brush it on and then drizzle whats left. I don't add the cocoa to the top until right before it is served - it can get soggy. Thank you Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States