Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I've made this twice now, and the first time was a flop for one simple reason: I took the recommendation of a blogger and cooked my sugar/yolk mixture over a double boiler. I cooked it for quite awhile and it still never thickened enough. The filling was runny and while it tasted great, it was more like Tiramisoup. The second time I followed the recipe's instruction and used a regular saucepan. Huge difference. A few small changes I made both times: mascarpone is hard to find in my area and ridiculously expensive, so I make my own. It is identical to storebought, and so simple & cheap to make. I also incorporated the whipped cream into the cheese mixture to make one filling, as well as added a small amount of sugar to the cream before I whipped it. It is incredibly delicious, and everything you want in a tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHWmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner this year. It was a huge hit! Now my family is requesting it for every occasion. The tip about not soaking the ladyfingers, but instead drizzling it on is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Delicious! The video was especially helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I made it for my coworker baby shower and every one at the office love it. I made this as an individual cup desserts, I used the 6 oz cup that bought from a restaurant supply store. *I used icing bag to fill the cream and break the lady fingers into three small pieces to fit in the cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cam V Whittaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was so good, I did double the coffee/rum mixture, was easy to make, I did use an Italian coffee so it was nice and strong. Will be making it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I tried this recipe and I loved it! Absolutely amazing! I have made some slight changes to it though: 1) (Optional) Since I wanted an alcohol free tiramisu, I substituted the rum with a tablespoon of extra coffee and another tablespoon of milk 2) In the video, it said to soak the ladyfingers by dipping them into the coffee. I know how easily these biscuits get soggy so instead, I placed the ladyfingers in the tray and then drizzled the coffee on top of them. 3) Be sure to let the finished tiramisu set in the fridge for at least 24 hours to let the flavours merge together Overall, though, by far the best tiramisu recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is the first time I tried making tiramisu. I read a lot of the reviews and the only thing I did different was I mixed the whipped cream and the egg mixture together to create one layer only. It came out perfect tasting. It didn't look too pretty because I didn't have the right dish size to use but it tasted awesome. I used Callebaut cocoa powder in all of my desserts and I think it will make everything taste so decadent. I used Myer's Jamaican rum with Starbucks coffee and the mixture blended beautifully together. My husband loves it and thinks it's the best tiramisu he's ever had and he has a big sweet tooth! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this multiple times...always excellent. Remember the quality of your finished product will only be as good as the quality of your ingredients. Have used different liquors....Kahlua, Amaretto (Disarrono), Rum.....always yummy. And definitely fold the whipped cream into the mascarpone, makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
OMG OMG OMG! This is to dieee for!I chose this recipe because the eggs are cooked and boy am i glad i did! I did not change anything about this recipe..not sure why everyone has to change recipes. Nothing about this recipe needs to be changed it was excellent. I will without a doubt be making it again. I watched the video and it def helped with the directions. I used 1/4 cup of rum and a half cup of coffee which is suggested in the video and i doubled it and i had more than enough. Cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Mignone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried making tiramisu with a no-cook recipe--it was better than what I've had in restaurants, but still slightly bland. Last night, I gave this recipe a try and it was AMAZING!!! Because I like mine with more of a kick in flavor, I did make some adjustments. I added a tablespoon of sugar to the whipped cream, I used espresso instead of regular coffee, and I tripled the amount of coffee and rum, letting each lady finger soak for 3 seconds in a shallow dish. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 936) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States