Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is "dead on"!!!! Tastes exactly like what I've gotten at many Italian restaurants (maybe even better). It is not difficult to make--just a little pricy for the ingredients, mainly the mascarpone cheese. The only thing I might change would be to try thin slices of pound cake instead of ladyfingers. For one thing, ladyfingers are hard to find. Secondly, you have to be very careful when putting the expresso mixture on them or they fall apart. Pound cake is denser and might work out better.....we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is the 2nd year that I made it for both sides' family Christmas party. The 1st year, my husband's brother said "This shall be my b-day cake from now on". This year, my sister's husband said "No one can eat dessert any more, I can take the whole thing home to enjoy!". By the way, my husband who hates coffee & alcohol secretly finished off the extra cup at home! Tried making it, you will not regret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is really very nice! Thanks for sharing the recipe. You can consider putting cling wrap over the container with additional length so that it's easy to take out. Or you can find a container with a wide enough base so that you can lay the tiramisu by individual portions. I think it would be nice if the video could show the end result of the yolk mixture before putting it into the refrigerator. I made it three times as the first two times became "curdy" which I suspect was due to "over cooking" the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've never had or made tiramisu before and this was absolutely delicious!!!! It wasn't hard to make at all. A little time consuming but totally worth it! The only lady fingers I could find were the small EXTREMELY absorbent ones so my first doubled batch of rum and coffee went completely into the first layer so it was a bit strong but the next layer I just drizzle it over the lady fingers after I placed them which worked out way better. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by markxiao1121
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was awesome! However, I think the rum is probably too much because I had to let it sit even longer than 2 days for the strong liquor taste to really go away. After 3 days, it was heavenly, the rum tasted really nice. I even added some skinned chocolate on top and a piece of Hershey's milk chocolate just to make it look more legit. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markxiao1121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wow! This was my first attempt at a tiramisu and I don't need to ever search for another recipe! I read through many of the reviews and did make some tweaks based on what I had read. Most notably: 1)Make 48 hours ahead. 2)Double the rum and coffee. 3)Use your kitchenaid to mix the yolks, sugar, and then milk. Pour into bowl and set over pot (as a double boiler). STIR CONSTANTLY and even a few times while chilling. I wound up being on the stovetop for 12 minutes. Mine never reached a boil, but I was looking for the change in color and consistency as noted in reviews. It also firms a bit more in the fridge. I used the kitchen aid to beat the ROOM TEMP marscapone into the chilled yolk mixture. 4)My store did not have the soft lady fingers so I wound up using the cookie like 'hard' version, Bellino Savioardi. I used about one and a half 7 ounce packages. I put them under the liquor/coffee mixture and rolled a few times then pulled out. Did not let get soggy, and after the 48 hours they were all soft and pleasing. I will ONLY use the hard lady fingers now! 5) I used a 10 inch spring form pan, and I added about a tbsp of sugar to the heavy cream. THANKS SO MUCH! AWESOME RECIPE! Update: Made it again 2 weeks later for Christmas Eve and came out the same- wonderful recipe! Everyone raved and there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Absolutely loved this dessert. Basically no reason why you can't sweeten it to your liking even for non-professional cooks like myself. I liked it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sutton West, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylkimami
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
WOW! I had been reading reviews for weeks before i tried it for my husband's birthday. I made it 48 hours in advance and I was SO worried it wasn't going to set. It came out FLAWLESS. No one but my believed it wasn't store bought. As the pic shows, I didn't get a chance to get a pic of it whole... and its disappearing SO quickly. i will DEFINITELY make this again. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylkimami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now, and both times I have had rave reviews! I made it for my soon to be in-laws and everyone loved it! I didn't reduce the sugar, but used dark chocolate instead, I also added GFIC Cafe Vienna to the heavy cream mixture. Be sure to make this desert 1-2 days in advance! Double the coffee and rum. I made chocolate hearts with white and dark chocolate for the decoration and made it in a 9" round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lehinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
As Macklemore would say. This is Freaking Awesome. So easy to make and amazing. As other reviews said it gets better day by day. I like mine really "coffeey" so next time I'd use a super super strong coffee and some more rum. It's really the perfect tiramisu. You will amaze people w/ this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madiopolis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States