Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've been making this for YEARS! Everyone that has ever tried it, has LOVED it and always asks me when I'm making it again :). I followed the recipe as written for a long time. Only the last 2 years I've changed it ever so slightly. My new changes have been; making my own ladyfingers using the "Savoiardi I" recipe from this site (I've tried all the ladyfinger recipes from this site and found this is the closest to store bought crisp Savoiardi). Instead of sprinkling cocoa powder, I buy a high quality 70% cacao bittersweet chocolate bar and use a micro plane grater for super fine chocolate shavings. I fold my whipped cream into the mascarpone mixture so I can have one less bowl on the counter during assembly (limited counter space!), and I prefer the texture this way. I sometimes use rum, sometimes not. It all depends on if I have any handy or not (usually not). And in my opinion, I think it is best 24 hours after it's been made. 4-6 hours is just not enough time for all the flavors to really soak in. I know it's hard to wait! But I promise, for this recipe - patience TRULY IS A VIRTUE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We make this for Christmas Eve dessert every year. It's wonderful. The ingredients can be difficult to find in my part of the country but the hunt is worth the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Yum! I cook the custard mixture in the microwave:30-60 second increments on high until thickened, stirring after each time.(less likely to scorch that way.If you over-cook and have curds, use "stick" blender, they smooth right out!)Found cocoa-flavored mascarpone at Trader Joe's - folded 8 oz. tub into the whipped cream, used 8 oz. regular mascarpone in the custard mixture. Used 50/50 strong coffee mixture and Frangelico for dipping the lady fingers. This tiramisu is awesome; it really does continue to improve the longer it rests - the hardest part is hiding it until serving time! First made this for Thanksgiving and it was immediately requested for Christmas - I have a feeling this is a new family "tradition" for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeccaFree
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the only tiramisu recipe I trust, I've tried many and this is the real deal! My Italian family agrees, the only thing I change is using fresh brewed espresso instead of regular coffee, it's the stronger and the way it was intended. I also discovered when my mixer broke that substituting cool whip in a pinch will work if you have no other options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made this and it was amazing i did like everyone said i increased the amount of coffee and rum and i whisked the egg mixture every 15 mintues while it was in the frig and it kept it from being lumpy.My son is not a dessert or sweet eate but this he loved and i made a second one to take to our sweater party we are going to and i also used soft lady fingers and used a pastry brush to put the coffee and rum mix on the lady fingers.I will continue to make this.Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Lovejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My boyfriend loves tiramisu, so I made this for him to celebrate a special occasion. I made some adjustments, I made 5x the amount of the coffee alcohol mix and I reduced the amount of alcohol it was a bit too much for my taste. I dipped a few of the lady fingers in the mixture to taste to get the amount of coffee and rum just right. But everything else I kept the same. A previous review mentioned that after 48 hours the flavors develop..... This is so true. By day 2 it was phenomenal!! My boyfriend loved it, he said that this is the best one he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was a great success! Lovely recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic. Like many others I could not find ladyfingers anywhere. What I did find was Madeleines , which I hoped would be a good substitute. They were ! I also did take a short cut and used store bought whipped cream, to which I added real vanilla extract. Let the whole thing sit 24 hours. Wow, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe! I used coffee instead of espresso and brandy instead of rum. It tasted amazing. I soaked the lady fingers with more coffee and brandy than what was called for- otherwise it seemed too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalind Mongin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 952) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States