Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent easy Tiramisu recipe! I would definitely double the coffee/rum amount. There is not enough in the recipe amount to moisten all of the lady fingers. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymakin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The problem with this recipe is that there is no direction on what to do with the egg whites...also a Double boiler should be used so that the eggs do not end up scrambled...these two details I found out AFTER. I called my mother who said that a double boiler must be used to make the custard and the the egg whites should be whipped until stiff and folded into the egg custard as the very last step. I think that the overall flavor of this recipe will be good when I re-do it but this time it had a strange consistency with the egg cooking the way it did. I also added some powdered sugar to the whipping cream to sweeten it up a little bit but I would add just a little more sugar and some vanilla to the custard as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I'm excited to try this recipe! I had a question for those who have made it... would this work in trifle form? I want to make it for a party and would like a great presentation. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My boss is italian and was talking about how good Tiramisu is.I had never made or tried it. So I looked up this recipe and prepared it (I like that you cook the egg mixture). It was sooo good. I tried several substitutions on my next attempts as I live in a small town and cannot always get the ladyfingers or mascarpone. However, the original recipe was by far the best but if you really need a Tiramisu fix and can't find all the ingreds.the subs will do. You can use pound cake in place of ladyfingers and cream cheese with a little butter and heavy cream in place of the mascarpone. I did sprinkle bitter sweet chocolate shavings on top of them all and it gave them a pleasant but not overbearing chocolate taste. And my boss and co-workers absolutly loved it. I have made 10 throughout the holidays and it dissappears as fast as I can make it. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoulaR
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Best Tiramisu EVER...light and flavorful. The 1/4 cup of espresso is not enough, it needs at least 1-1.5 cups of instant espresso ( I would rather have more than I need when assembling the dessert than run out midway through and have to make more and wait for it to cool). My family wanted a little more sweetness so I added a tablespoon of sugar to the whipped cream band that did the trick ( I have made 3 batches of this recepie tweaking each time which is what I am summarizing in this review)I also folded the whipped cream into the mascarpone cream, and did not layer the mascarpone and whipped cream as the recipie calls for. Whipped cream will deflate and turn watery after a while ruining the dessert. I also recommend leaving in fridge for 24hrs before eating' this recipient gets better with age:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
THIS WAS AMAZING!!! As others have said, double the rum and double the coffee and LET IT SIT FOR 24hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Great recipe. I didn't have a 7x11 pan so used a 9x13. It worked ok but the layers of the mascarpone custard and whipped cream were a little thin. Next time I will either make larger quantities or use a smaller pan. It made for a lighter, fluffier Tiramisu than the more dense typical. I used an electric mixer to mix the yolks and sugar until it was thick and then when cool used same mixer to add cheese. Everyone enjoyed it and said "it wasn't too sweet." Definitely could taste the various flavors of coffee, rum and mascarpone. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Terrific. I would just use more of everything but the ladyfingers to make it more moist and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Awesome recipe. Easy to follow. I made it as directed. Had 2 different sources and textures of ladyfingers which concerned me, but it didn't matter. This tiramisu was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
try using Medaglia D'oro cafe espresso but also go authentic by using Punch Abruzzo instead of plain rum! you will get a much more authentic and complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States