Tiramisu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I am not a tiramisu person, really, but my husband definitely IS, so I sallied forth into tiramisu territory and started testing recipes. This one is bang on - far better than any local restaurant version - WITH a few changes. Per the other reviews, I doubled the coffee mixture (and tripled the liquor); I changed the rum to Kaluha; can't find the crispy ladyfingers in my area, so use the soft ones from the bakery section of my grocery store; I place them in the serving dish and then drizzle (generously) the coffee mixture; and I replace the cocoa with microplaned frozen dark chocolate(freezing the chocolate bar first gives you tiny little curls of chocolate; As for combining the gooey layers, I've done both and prefer the separate layers. I agree with other reviewers that ingredients have to be fresh, but since this is a pricey dish to prepare at best, I decided to go a step further and use all organic ingredients. End result? Heavenly - and much requested by friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Borden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
It was absolutely delicious !! made it twice already twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulina Lalji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grayce Bee
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great recipe. My local grocery doesn't carry mascarpone or ladyfingers, so I used softened cream cheese mixed with sour cream and milk, and nilla wafers. I dunked each wafer into the coffee individually. I tried to sprinkle the cocoa on with a spoon; lots of lumps, I don't mind, but next time I might use my sifter or little strainer. But believe you me, there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grayce Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This is the most amazing, rich, decadent recipe for tiramisu that I have come across to date.i always follow the directions exactly, until I get to the last step. I put on enough cocoa powder to thinly coat the entirety of the top layer of whipped cream. I don't measure out the tablespoon. I sprinkle as evenly as I can, and then I pick up the whole pan and just jiggle it a little back and forth to get the layers to settle and the cocoa to spread evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Sessions

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
FABULOUS ! Doubled the coffee and the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Needed a little more rum coffee mixture for me but otherwise my favorite dessert to make hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Great recipe! I only changed one thing, I used Coffee lacquer instead of rum. That made it much better for my test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I first tried this recipe several years ago (about 5 actually now that I think about it; wow) and I'm still using it today! My own variation is actually folding the whipped mascarpone into the whipped cream, and then gently folding the custard in with that, creating one creamy texture as opposed to two. The resulting mascaropne custard mix is delicious, I always make extra when I'm making a tiramisu now, just so that I can make crêpes with that cream and fruits later on in the week! As for the rum, I'm not a big fan (too many bad drinking experiences with it), but I've tried it with no liquor, coffee liqueur, Bailey's, and Amarula and all have been fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Ferrer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by choxie
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I like this recipe, I use angel food cake instead of lady fingers because I can't find any in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Recipe SO easy and turned out delish! Really impressed everyone at Easter with this. Restaurant quality taste and presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States