Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The filling was very good. I think the mascarpone is very important. It has a nutty-ness that cream cheese does not, also it does not have the tang that cream cheese and sour cream have (do not overbeat the mascarpone or it will become grainy, I always beat the cream cheese much longer before adding the mascarpone). I didn't care for the crust. I make tiramisu quite often and love the lady fingers in that, but here it didn't work for me. I used more coffee liqueur than called for and needed a 10" springform rather than an 8 or 9" one. I always bake cheesecakes in a water bath and leave them in the turned off oven for an hour to prevent cracks. I think that overbeating once the eggs are added also causes cracks because the air is beaten into the eggs, causing the cake to rise while baking and then deflate leaving a crack.This is why I beat everythin extremely well so that it is perfectly smooth before adding the eggs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
excellent recipe. I used more coffee liquor than the recipe called for the bring out that coffee flavor more. I also made a homemade whip cream to top and used instant expresso and more of the coffee liquor and it was simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomi1025
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this recipe for Christmas dinner. The crust and cheesecake turned out perfectly. I took other reviewers advice and heavily buttered the side of my springform pan and it was PERFECT. No crack. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding 6 tbsp. of Kahlua to the crust and 6 tbsp to the filling. My family that it had a strong alcohol taste. I thought it was fine. I'll probably make it again, but leave out the extra Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I love this recipe!!!! It's super easy to make and the cream is just perfect- not too sweet! Don't worry if you think your ladyfinger is oversoaked/wet...once it sits in the fridge for a couple hours all the flavors will come through and it'll be perfect. I actually added a couple more teaspoons of Kahula just to get it that extra kick. The hard part is the waiting to dig into it. My husband's favorite dessert is tiramisu and he says this is his favorite one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
it cracked but the taste was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was a delicious cheesecake, but it's extremely heavy. There is definitely not enough coffee in this cake. I think I added a total of 8 espresso shots (4 in the crumbs and 4 in the cheesecake mixture.) It wasn't bad with this amount of espresso but I could have used even more (maybe mixing some instant coffee into the espresso would have been a good move.) Also, I found the mascarpone flavor very subtle.It made the cake very heavy and didn't contribute much other than that. I think to cut the cost of this cake, you could leave it out. Overall it was really yummy. I used a chocolate ganache as the icing. A good mocha or coffee flavored topping would have really topped it off too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I thought this cheesecake tasted great and was easy to make. As suggested, I increased the Kahlua. I also found that mine cracked in the top, but covered the ch-cake in cool whip, followed by a new "alcohol infused whipped cream" in caramel flavor to accent like the picture shows. You can purchase this at the liquor store- super yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I had to make some adjustments due to lack of coffee liqueur in the house. Based on the suggestion of others, I added some amaretto to the crust as well as the cheesecake itself. I threw in a package of Starbucks Via to provide the coffee flavor and it was quite good. Baked for 45 mins and cooled as directed. I got a crack in it, but that doesn't affect the flavor so I really don't care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
It's very good but like others have mentioned, the coffee liquour needs to be increased to 3+ tbsps. Mine did break at the top but i made a top with dark chocolate and not only did it look nice the chocolate enhanced the coffee flavor. Wish it wasn't so rich tough :0(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is delicious, but I did follow reviewer Mandy's recipe for the crust instead of the one in the recipe and made her ganache for the topping. I also added extra Kalhua as she suggested. I think changing the crust like she has it and adding the ganache made this cheesecake. To be honest, I probably would not have rated it so high if I hadn't done so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States