Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this cheescake for a family get together. They devoured it. First time that a cheesecake was finished the same day it was served. I used the other recommendation, and added about 12-13 tablespoons of kahlua. The flavour was plenty. Make sure to shave the chcolate before serving, it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Mmmmmm this was awesome! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because if I hadn't put in more coffee liquer like other reviewers suggested it would have been bland for me. I put 4 tablespoons on the crust and almost 8 in the batter. I didn't have mascarpone cheese so I did the 8 oz of cream cheese quarter cup of cream substitute and also I couldn't find ladyfingers so I used nilla wafers. It cracked a tiny bit so I made a little chocolate gnache for the top and that just made it perfect. Will definitely always do that. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I wish I could give this a 3.5... I made this when my Italian in-laws came over...I figured they would be the best judges. I sprinkled the top with cocoa powder and immediately they thought it was Tiramisu. They tried it & liked it but most of them commented that it was more of a coffee flavoured cheesecake & they didn't get the Tiramisu taste. I had leftovers that I shared with others & many made the same comments. A few people suggested maybe adding a topping of fruit or whipped cream or even pouring some espresso over it before serving or adding a different liqueur that you would be used in Tiramisu (ie Brandy) It came out looking beautiful and didn't crack. As many other reviewers suggested I used doubled the amount of Kahlua in the crust & filling and added a little espresso to the filling. I'm not sure if this contributed to the coffee flavour confusion but I feel without these additions the cake would have been very plain cheesecake tasting. I won't be rushing to make this again although people said it tasted good it was disappointed that it didn't live up to it's Tiramisu name/flavouring - IF i make it again i will be calling it a "Coffee Cheesecake". I will definitely be using the idea of lady fingers as a crust for another cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I took the advice of others and doubled up on the coffee liqueur both in the crust and the filling. I can't really say that it tasted like Tiramisu, though it was very good. There really wasn't a hint of the mascarpone except for maybe it added to the silkiness of the cheesecake. In any event, it impressed my neighborly taste-testers who are always looking to see what type of treat awaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. The only few changes I would make: Up the amount of liqueur as other users mentioned. I pre-baked the crust about 5-10 minutes. I could not find ladyfingers so I used a mix of vanilla and chocolate cookies. 12 oz package may be TOO much for crust. I used less than that. I also baked this in a water bath (instead of steaming on the lower rack). Also, it probably could do without the flour (or less amount). I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this cheesecake for New Year's Eve. I followed the recipe pretty closely, except used 4T of kahlua on the crust and 4T on the cheesecake per other reviewer's suggestions. I did also only use two packages of lady fingers sold by Trader Joe's (4.25 oz ea) and it was quite a lot. Overall the flavor turned out very good and tasted like tiramisu, but was a bit heavy, not creamy and I like cheesecake. I probably will stick to regular tiramisu instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very good and not too hard to make. This was my first cheesecake that I've made and I got a lot of compliments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Outstanding! Served this New Year's Eve 2012-3 and was a hit! I took suggestion made by another and doubled the Kahlua. Next time will go 3x recipe as it was so smooth and creamy and not overpowering, it needs more. Crust was a bit dry so will ensure more moisture there as well, butter & Kahlua should do it. Package of Lady Fingers I bought was 14 oz. and I used it all which is part of the reason for dryness. I did compensate this time w/extra T of butter and Kahlua but needed a bit more. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Oh, my! This was VERY good! As many suggested, I added more Kahlua. I used a total of 6oz., 2 in the crust and 4 in the batter. I did add an extra egg with the extra liquid and the container of Marscapone I purchased was 12oz. I decorated the top of the cake with a mixture of 8oz cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar and a couple tablespoons of Kahlua to taste, piped on in swirls. I also spinkled cocoa powder over the top. Great cheesecake and would make it again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made this a few times now. The recipe as written is good, but could easily be a 5 star recipe with a few minor changes. The changes I made was what others have mentioned. It really needs more coffee flavored liqueur (I like Baileys the best so far). At least double the amount the recipe calls for. Half in the lady fingers crust and half in the cheesecake mix. For the lady fingers I used Savoiardi I recipe from here. Excellent and easy recipe! It worked well for the crust. I also added about 1/4 cup of espresso (half in the crust, half in the mix). It has more of a tiramisu flavor with the changes made. If you have access to coffee syrup (made in Rhode Island) it is a wonderful addition to drizzle a little bit on top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States