Tiramisu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I made this Cheesecake for work with the Italian theme..Well let me say it was a huge success..All I head was mmmmmm's non-stop..They all wanted my recipe for this..I did make some changes to the orginal from everyones suggestions and reviews..CRUST-1. I half the crust with 6 0s of nilla wafers and one package of lady fingers (I did crush them very fine and mixed them together). 2. I used a total of 6 TBS of melted butter for the crust and 4 TBS of Kaluha to the crust mixture as well. MIXTURE-I used an 8 oz. container of Tiramisu flavor Mascarpone cheese. 2. I put in a total of 5 TBS of Kahula into the mixture as well..GANACHE- I got the recipie from this site as well and got the reviews and suggestions as well..I did ulter for the size that I needed though. 1. 5 0z. of Bittersweet chocolate(I used the Neestle Chocolatier, 1/2 C. of heavy whipping cream. After I boiled the whipping cream I added it to the chocolate pieces in a bowl and melted the chocolate. Then I added 1 tsp. of Kulaha just for flavor, and mixed until it cooled so I can drizzle it with a wisk.. I did top it with chocolate shavings and cacao powder like the picture I did use the coolwhip in a can. next time I will do the toppings just before serving..(HINT,HINT) My only regret is that I wish that I could have eaten a slice for just me but then I would of went into a sugar coma..For the two bites that I got LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was good- I did use 4tbsp Starbucks cream liqour in the crust, and 10 in the filling, as well as a touch of actual espresso- but this was a LOVELY moist cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyMo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was a great cheesecake, however, it did not taste anything like Tiramisu. I followed other reviewers suggestions and put 4 tbsp of coffee liquor in the crust and 6 in the batter, I also dusted the top with cocoa power and cooked it in a water bath for 45 min. Everyone loved it, it just didn't really taste like Tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I also used more liquer. 4 TBS in crust and 6 TBS in filling. Instead of using ladyfingers, I used a mix of regular and chocolate graham cracker crumbs for a sturdier crust. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOURINOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really had high hopes for this recipe. I'm being generous with 4 stars. The flavor of the filling was good, and quite true to 'tiramisu'. However, the crust was a huge disappointment...especially after all that work to crush the ladyfingers! You DEFINITELY need more butter in the crust. And baking time is WAY too short. Even after adding 20 min. bake time, it was still gooey in the middle. Sigh. I'll try again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sporkism
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My first cheesecake ever. I'm still in awed disbelief that I could make something that tastes this good! No cracks, turned out perfect - used the water bath technique. Increased liquor in the crust/filling as many suggested, but I'm still going to add even more to the crust next time - maybe some espresso too. I used nilla wafers for the crust. The recipe calls for 12 oz of ladyfingers, but a whole 12 oz box of wafers would have been way too much. I used about half that and still had to increase the butter to a whole stick. Topped with Ganache I (I halved that recipe and still had a ton, so be careful) and made my own frosting: 1 C hvy cream + 1 tbsp kahlua + 1/8 C confec sugar. Perfection!!! You'll swear this is something straight out of Cheesecake Factory, if not better! Pretty easy to prepare, too! I will make this again and again.... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I made it for Chinese New Year and everyone loved it!! Only thing was that the base was a little too thick and the measurements of the ingredients were too much. Cooking time needs to be more than 45 mins at the stated temperature. I baked it for 1 hour and 10 mins. Made a chocolate ganache and poured it over the cake. When the frosting has set, I drizzled melted chocolate on the cake, sprinkled chocolate chips on it, and put chocolate curls in the middle. Everyone loved the look and taste of the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this for a family Christmas dinner, it won rave reviews! I used the 5 and 10 tablespoons of kahlua and it was amazing!! A smooth, really yummy cheesecake with great tiramisu flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good cheesecake. I might add a little more coffee liquour next time, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Fantastic! My first try making cheesecake, and everyone loved it. I did add extra coffee flavored liqor to add taste and soften the cheese. I would aslo recommend letting it set over night in the fridge, as the consistency was just right after the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States