Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2000
I served this at an Italian themed dinner party. It was the easiest item on the menu to prepare - and the that got the most compliments! It is not cooked, so the alcohol is not burned off. I wouldn't serve large pieces to children. :-) Also, remember, the eggs are not coddled, so keep refridgerated. I modified the recipe slightly to include a third layer. Very easy recipe to modify. I used 50% more lady fingers, another 2/3 cup coffee, teaspoon of cognac (Yes, I used cognac in lieu of rum), etc. It wasn't an exact science - I eyeballed most of it - but the recipe is really friendly, so everything turned out perfectly. Great recipe! Give it a try! One other tip - use a glass pan, not metal. Metal will react with your liquor and turn the lady fingers dark green/black. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This recipe was okay. I replaced the rum with Kahula, which made it alot better. I highly recommend chilling this desert over night, it was much better than four hours after making it. I also suggest making a small batch to try your hand at it first, it was helpful to tweek the recipe to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRILPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
wow. delicious and easy. i couldn't find ladyfingers at the store, so i used vanilla wafers instead. and i substituted kahlua for all the rum. it was fantastic, if i do say so myself. the only thing i would do differently next time is soak the cookies longer. i was afraid they would get too soggy, but i think they weren't soggy enough. my bad. overall, though, totally killer and it really was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This ended up a little bit to soggy for us and the rum flavor was a bit overpowering. The cream mixture turned out pretty good. Maybe the lady fingers I used soaked up to much. I only dipped them for about 1 second, though. My husband usually loves tiramisu, but wasn't all that impressed. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
There are so many different ways to make this dessert. This is very tasty, try using rum extract~Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I found it a bit to watery when it as sat for some time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This recipe was quite easy to prepare, but not as good as tiramisu in a restaurant. I agree with other reviewers that it was too runny and the alchohol overpowered the dish. The flavor masked the delicacy of the mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
The rum flavor was overpowering, but if less was used, or none at all, this would be delicious. It also seemed there was not enough of the mascarpone cheese mix, so I will make more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Thank you so much for this amazingly easy recipe Jackie!! I had to do some hunting for the ingredients, but all, in good stead =)I was quite apprehensive while making it as well. But once it was made and kept for chilling "and" brought out, I could not believe the result! It was truly mind-blowing!! I can't wait to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I thought it was great! Easy and so tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olga inyutina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Chef John's Tiramisu

See how to make a creamy classic Italian dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States