Tiny Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These are the BOMB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I once saw a mini muffin pan which included a wooden tool (like a pestle) to make these kind of tarts. Since I didn't have the tool, I used an empty 35mm film container to press a small ball of dough into the muffin cup. As you push, it forces the dough up the sides of the cup and you just have to finish it a little in the sides with your fingers. It is so much more simple this way. If your cups flare more, experiment with other small bottles/containers...(cover the item with plastic wrap, in case the item isn't food-safe). Pressing all those cups with your fingers is WAY too tedious for me! I hope this helps because these cookies are too good to skip due to all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
these tasted really good, but like another reviewer, the tops got holes in them, and they were VERY GREASY. they took a long time to make to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are divine! Bake in non-stick mini muffin tins and they come out easily. I put little balls of dough in each muffin cup and then use a wooden Pampered Chef tart shaper to form the tart shell. I also add 1 tbsp. of corn syrup to the filling to keep the sugar from crystallizing when tarts are baked. Have been making these to rave reviews for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Nice dough to work with. They turned out very pretty. The basic dough was pretty flavorless though. Maybe adding a bit of sugar to the batter would be better. I substituted Solo cherry filling due to the comments about the pecan filling. Used some of the dough to make savory tarts. Beat up some eggs, added shredded cheese and bacon bits & poured that into the tart shells and baked as directed for pecan filling - VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
these were perfect. I made them and my boyfriend who loves pecan pie really loved them. Also my mother in law raved about them and wants to make more now and took the recipe. I used regular muffin cups as that is what I had and they turned out fine. I also put them in muffin cups xmas ones and they peeled out nicely. Will make again..today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These are excellent! however I wouldn't bake them for as long as the recipe states. When I did they were too dark. I shortened the baking time and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I love these. You want to make sure the filling doesn't touch the muffin pan (only goes in the crust) otherwise they do stick. I also used an extra large egg, let the filling sit a few minutes before filling and I cooked it for 25 minutes. They came out like mini tart pecan pies...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These are the best- just sprinkle some confectioners sugar on top... pretty and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These are wonderful! I was leary when I read that the "crust" had no sweetners in it...but it complements wonderfully! I baked some for a cookie exchange and had my "tester" (my husband) try them...he immediately fell in love and bought me 2 more sets of mini muffin pans as a "gift". I had problems getting the little buggers out of the pan however and on the second and third batch sprayed the top lightly with cooking spray. The bottom or crust came out great but the top that spilled over stuck something wicked. GREAT cookie! A new holiday must! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States