Tiny Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
these are always the first to go on cookie trays. getting ready to make these for the fourth holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. The filling was tasty- I probably overbaked it b/c the filling was sort of hard (probably should've been much gooier and sticky). I didn't care for the crust- lacked any flavor and it was way too crumbly. It was too much work. I prefer a crust that's more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I LOVE these. Only change I made is equal amounts of pecans and sugar (heaping 1/2 cup) and I did add the corn syrup as suggested. Makes exactly 24. The dough is SO easy to work with. I use a cookie scoop, place dough into mini muffin pans and use thumb to make center "hole". Very quick....then I use 2 teaspoons and scrape filling into hole. Is it Christmas yet?? I want to make these :+) BTW the filling does get light and "airy" but that is what this recipe is supposed to do. It is not thick, pecan pie like. They are so good. Everybody always wants the recipe. MAKE THESE Impressive for a cookie exchange or tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for years, and it is one of my all time favorites just as it is. My grandma called them Butter Tarts or Pecan Tassies. Over the years I've simplified the preparation. I drop pre-measured scoops of the dough into non-stick mini-muffin tins. Then I use a tamper to mold the dough in the tins. Finally, I put the filling in a pastry bag and fill each cup about two-thirds full. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Takes a little time to assemble but well worth the effort. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Followed recipe as is. Turned out great. The filling was more than needed so broke the filling recipe down in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Grandma has made these for years. She puts a whole pecan on top of these yummy tarts while baking, though. Not only do they look prettier, but they taste darn good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Fin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I remember my mom making these for me when I was younger and now I can make them on my own. They came out perfect and looked just like the picture shown. I made no changes and loved the recipe just the way it was written. I plan on making these for potlucks and gatherings. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
makes about 30...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
i've been wanting to make tarts for a while now and i chose this recipe for my coming out. i made a batch on sunday. after 30 minutes of baking, the tarts were still flat, so i waited another 10-15 minutes. after all that baking, the tarts remained flat. now it's tuesday, and i'm making another one. this batch looks different from the other and i have 15 more minutes until i taste another tart. i can't wait! they're DELICIOUS! (btw, it was too time consuming for me to mold the liners on the side, so i just place all the crust on the bottom.) --- UPDATE --- i've made this about 10 times now. i've tried other recipes but nothing beats this recipe's simplicity. i've also tried different fillings - raisins, walnuts, walnuts with choco chips, cereals - and they're all really good. although, i don't suggest walnuts alone because you can really taste the bitterness, at least i can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States