Tiny Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are divine! Bake in non-stick mini muffin tins and they come out easily. I put little balls of dough in each muffin cup and then use a wooden Pampered Chef tart shaper to form the tart shell. I also add 1 tbsp. of corn syrup to the filling to keep the sugar from crystallizing when tarts are baked. Have been making these to rave reviews for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
They were easy to make and I really liked them. I just rolled the dough between two sheets of parchment paper and cut circles with a wine glass - no hustle this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I once saw a mini muffin pan which included a wooden tool (like a pestle) to make these kind of tarts. Since I didn't have the tool, I used an empty 35mm film container to press a small ball of dough into the muffin cup. As you push, it forces the dough up the sides of the cup and you just have to finish it a little in the sides with your fingers. It is so much more simple this way. If your cups flare more, experiment with other small bottles/containers...(cover the item with plastic wrap, in case the item isn't food-safe). Pressing all those cups with your fingers is WAY too tedious for me! I hope this helps because these cookies are too good to skip due to all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I don't even like pecan pie but thought I would add these to my holiday trays for variety...let me tell you these are fantastic! They had just the right amount of sweetness and the pastry comes out very flaky and tender. I added a tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon to my filling, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. These were very easy. The recipe made exactly 24 and I had to go back and make another batch as we ate too many. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
i've been wanting to make tarts for a while now and i chose this recipe for my coming out. i made a batch on sunday. after 30 minutes of baking, the tarts were still flat, so i waited another 10-15 minutes. after all that baking, the tarts remained flat. now it's tuesday, and i'm making another one. this batch looks different from the other and i have 15 more minutes until i taste another tart. i can't wait! they're DELICIOUS! (btw, it was too time consuming for me to mold the liners on the side, so i just place all the crust on the bottom.) --- UPDATE --- i've made this about 10 times now. i've tried other recipes but nothing beats this recipe's simplicity. i've also tried different fillings - raisins, walnuts, walnuts with choco chips, cereals - and they're all really good. although, i don't suggest walnuts alone because you can really taste the bitterness, at least i can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This recipe deserves 10 stars! The tarts are easy to make and taste heavenly. The recipe for the tart crust is so light and flaky. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Very yummy! I wouldn't fill the pastry cups completely, they tend to overflow. Also, my first couple batches I was short pecans and they really over flowed so, follow this recipe as exact as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I just made this recipe for the 3rd time. It's awesome and so easy to make! It's replacing my usual pecan pie this T-day. I add an extra 1/4 cup of nuts - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. The filling was tasty- I probably overbaked it b/c the filling was sort of hard (probably should've been much gooier and sticky). I didn't care for the crust- lacked any flavor and it was way too crumbly. It was too much work. I prefer a crust that's more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for years, and it is one of my all time favorites just as it is. My grandma called them Butter Tarts or Pecan Tassies. Over the years I've simplified the preparation. I drop pre-measured scoops of the dough into non-stick mini-muffin tins. Then I use a tamper to mold the dough in the tins. Finally, I put the filling in a pastry bag and fill each cup about two-thirds full. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Hedgehog Cookies

Melted chocolate and chopped pecans turn cookies into fun hedgehogs!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States