Tiny Fudge Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I've made this recipe for years and always get rave reviews. Some tips to make them come out well: for a flaky, crispy outside, treat the pastry like pie dough. Don't soften the butter! Keep it super cold -- if you have time, stick the flour mixture in the fridge (or freezer) before or after you cut the butter, and always use ice water. When you gather the dough, knead lightly to make layers but don't overwork, and refrigerate immediately while you work on the filling. Don't overbake. The bottoms should be just starting to turn golden. If the tarts have opened up while baking, you have about 30 seconds after they come out of the oven to curl the edges back over the filling before they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe as part of our Christmas cookie assortment this year as I had remembered it from my childhood when my mother mades something like this. I was a little disappointed, the chocolate interier wasn't nearly as fudgy as my mom's and the shortbread seemed tougher to me as well, not as buttery and flaky as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These are so good!! a little sweet, but I thought they were amazing!!! I accidentally burned one batch.....DONT!!!!! They were only like two minutes overdone, and they looked just a little golden, but they were really crunchy, and almost all the flavor was gone!!!!!! :( I had trouble with the shape, but I came to the conclusion that I didn't have to make the shape that the recipe said!!! So I made folded squares instead!!! :) Great recipe!! Thanks a lot for adding it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minichef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
really easy! I enjoyed them, and next time will add a little sugar to the shortbread for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonotech613
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Yummy, with a flaky crust and chewy chocolate filling. I put some seedless raspberry jam in a plastic bag, cut a tiny hole in the corner, drizzled, and let it dry. Perfect for the fancy but not too time consuming recipe i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I found them time consuming to put together but would probably get easier the second time around. Not sure what they are supposed to look like so I took a picture of mine and tried to send it here but it doesn't seem to work for me. If someone else has a picture it would be nice to see what they are really supposed to look like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is very similar to a recipe I made as a young teen with my cousin. Everytime we got together we made these and ate our fill, laughing and having the best time. They are really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
These were delicious! It did take some time putting them together. I am sure that they will become breeze to make after a few more batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States