Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
11/04/06 I am adding a more updated review. These turnovers are delicious! I make these for every dinner party where finger foods are served. I have made about 15x since 2003! I am now a pro. The filling can be made the day before and refrigerated. Also, save time by using ready-made pie crust, wontons wrappers, or even phyllo! Experiment! We like the pie crust! Extra tip with the crust...roll very thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I liked the idea of these turnovers but I can't make pastry to save my life, so I used Pilsbury cresent roll dough and they turned out great! Next time I'm going to add chopped carrots and celery since they already tasted like mini pot pies. I tried freezing some and they only take 1 minute in the microwave! My kids won't eat anything but they at least tasted these. ;-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I love appetizers and this was a really good one- my husband says it's a keeper. Now, for some helpful hints-make the dough first and refrigerate. It'll roll out easier. Use plenty of flour when rolling out,too. You also might want to up the spices to your personal taste. These really do freeze well and reheat right from the freezer-a plus when company's coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
You're a lifesaver, Amanda! We recently hosted a family reunion with 72 people attending, and I wanted recipes that I could prepare and freeze ahead. I found this one and considered myself verrrry lucky! I figured three appetizers per person. Not only did they taste great, but it was soooo convenient to prepare them ahead of time, freeze, and reheat the day of our function. Everyone really enjoyed these and several folks asked for the recipe. I ran out in spite of all the other food available!I added more green onion than called for, some fresh finely chopped basil and minced fresh garlic rather than garlic salt. Everyone really enjoyed these and many folks asked for the recipe. BTW, I cut the butter in the pastry back to 3/4 cup per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These chicken turnovers are DEEELISH!!! I made these for a friend and her family during her mothers passing. They loved them! Since I never follow a recipe exactly and here are my changes: Sautéed 1 shallot w/ 4tbs butter, added 1 entire rotisserie chicken (shredded), chicken stock to lightly moisten (did not measure), dried parsley, seasoned mixture to taste, rolled (very thinly) 2 cans of Pillsbury Garlic Butter Crescents, brushed turnovers with evaporated milk. Made 36 turnovers and had 1/2 cup extra chicken mixture left over. Wonderful hot out of the over or frozen and reheated. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This recipe was great. I did take the easy way out though and bought frozen pastry dough, cut it into squares and made little triangle treats instead. It was still delicious and the guests at my party loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
this recipe was awesome. i never worked with pastry before, yet this recipe was easy but time consuming. but i did alter the recipe. i sauteed an equal amount of sliced mushrooms to chicken with some garlic. i used peppridge farm pastry shells and rolled it out thin. before baking, i brushed melted butter onto the pastry. and i served this with creme of mushroom sauce. all in all, i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
These are excellent. I have made them twice for large groups of people and they disappeared fast. The first time I followed the recipe but the second time I cut back the butter in the pastry to 3/4 cup which meant I had to increase the amount of water slightly. The pastry was still very rich and delicious but it was easier to work with and a little firmer when cooked, which is no bad thing with how tender these turnovers are. Very much worth the time it takes to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These are great with about 1/2 to 1 cup of shredded sharp cheese added to pastry, and 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of ground chipotle or ground cayenne added to filling. Also added about 1/2 tsp of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
add to taste dry sherry, fresh herbs, parmigiano reggiano, chili powder, and finely chopped portabella mushrooms. Important, roll pastry as thin as possible and if desired add parmigiano to pastry. Time consuming, but I froze them for last minute appetizers. Now, this is 5 stars and everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States