Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
My 4yr. old and I made this together-everyone loved them! I thought i made enough to freeze for later, but my husband and brother-in-law split the last one. I did use can biscuits rolled thin instead of making my own dough-next time going to try cresent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
We love this so much, I make it for the main course! I am a horrible baker, but this dough is impossible to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I thought these were good. They were a lot of work. I think the 2.5" cutter was too small...next time I think I'll try a 3" size or possibly larger. I put extras in the freezer, so hopefully they'll turn out okay when I thaw them later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect! I did follow other peoples suggestion to chill the dough and that worked very well. I have 2- 2 year olds, 2- 3 year olds and a 4 year old and they all loved it (I did too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
surprisingly flavorful and very good! the pastry was really flaky and everyone said "they just melt in your mouth." however i can't help but wonder if the full cup of butter is necessary... next time i might try less butter. but they were really really good! give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I make something similiar to this pretty often. Instead of pastry crust, I use eggroll wrappers! I know it sounds crazy, but they turn out quite well. Secondly, instead of poultry seasoning and paprika, I use 1 1/2 tsp dried dill weed and a hearty dash of cayenne pepper. They are absolutely to die for! Nonetheless, I did try this recipe, and it was good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The filling in this recipe is delicious. However, the pastry is a total nightmare to make. It tasted too bready. I think it would be wonderful with the round crescents and a lot easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These chicken turnovers are DEEELISH!!! I made these for a friend and her family during her mothers passing. They loved them! Since I never follow a recipe exactly and here are my changes: Sautéed 1 shallot w/ 4tbs butter, added 1 entire rotisserie chicken (shredded), chicken stock to lightly moisten (did not measure), dried parsley, seasoned mixture to taste, rolled (very thinly) 2 cans of Pillsbury Garlic Butter Crescents, brushed turnovers with evaporated milk. Made 36 turnovers and had 1/2 cup extra chicken mixture left over. Wonderful hot out of the over or frozen and reheated. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Really good. Not as difficult to make as I thought. Don't be afraid of the butter. Rolling out with lots of flour and between waxpaper makes the process easier. I made according to the recipe but with turkey and added some celery and a half teaspoon of sage. It got rave reviews. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
What a great appetizer! Time consuming though...so be prepared. I used a fully cooked whole chicken from the super market and pre-made pie crusts. If you go this route, I'd advise rolling the pie crust out thinner that it comes out of the package...makes more of them and you can taste the filling more. I added slightly more onion, and actually a little cinnamon (by accident - grabbed the wrong spice!), and they were still awesome. I made 110 of them for a baby shower and froze them ahead of time. This is a definite keeper! I know I'll be making these again and again. Even my finicky 4-year-old loved them! She called them "little pies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States