Tiny Chicken Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good. I sauted the chicken in poultry seasoning and added chopped carrots then wrapped in uncooked tortillas. Even with not making my own crust they took forever! They were a little dry, but tasted very good. Next time I'll add some liquid to make more 'pot pie' like and will probably make my own crust, but will definitely be sure to start early in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
So easy and so so good. I did add a little goat cheese, just because I'm currently addicted to it. The only problem was that they looked so perfect that no one believed me that I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I never actually got to taste these as they just flew off the plate, but my husband loved them. I used celery salt instead of poultry seasoning. I baked them and then froze as suggested. Definitely a make again. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Well, they took FOREVER to make!! That's why I'm giving it four stars. They tasted good though... I didn't get to make the other stuff I was going to make because these took so long. I think next time if I do something like this I will just use chicken salad from the deli and some premade dough to wrap them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Yummmm!!! I made this as it is written. I personally would not like to substitute the pastry part of this recipe unless I was in a hurry. These are a bit time consuming to make, but worth the effort. The pastry was so flaky with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. The filling was so flavorful! Everyone gobbled these things up and raved about them! Maybe next time I will roll the dough out into 2 logs and roll the mix up in those, bake it, then cut it into slices...that may take some of the time out of preparation! Thank you for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I got great reviews on this but I thought the filling needed more flavor. I used pie crust, I minced the onion and I used and a pampered chef pastry press to make the crimp. I bought a whole rotisserie chicken which made it easier to prep the shredded chicken. The first batch took a little time prepare but the second took no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were so good! I made them for a dinner party that I had recently. I've read the other reviews though and I'd like to offer a couple of tips for working with a butter pastry. First, make sure that your butter and water is very cold. I usually pop mine in the freezer for an hour or so before making the crust. Another hour or so in the freezer after you've made the crust is a good idea too. I didn't find these time consuming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Made as written. This was just OK. We didnt hate it but we were not crazy about it either. It needed something just not sure what. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I was really impressed with the filling. Its a very rich food including the crust. I would suggest either cutting the salt to half or using unsalted butter in the crust. The fresh pastry is worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
My 4yr. old and I made this together-everyone loved them! I thought i made enough to freeze for later, but my husband and brother-in-law split the last one. I did use can biscuits rolled thin instead of making my own dough-next time going to try cresent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Chicken Caesar Spring Rolls

Learn how to make the ultimate low-carb chicken wrap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States