Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Great recipe! try replacing the jalapeno peppers for chipotle peppers, you can find them canned on the Mexican produce section. Beware 'cause they are HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I just made the meat recipe and put it on tostadas. It was good, but next time I will probably top the tostadas with crema mexicana and some green taco sauce. I also substituted the tomatoes for a can of diced tomatoes (drained), since out-of-season tomatoes are sometimes poor quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My 14 year old daughter and her friend made this. It has now become one of the family favorites. We usually soften the tortillas on a hot griddle or in a small amount of oil to make rolling easier and use toothpicks to fasten before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is delicious. Very similar to the flauta/taquitos I order in my favorite restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic!! I will definitely be making these more regularly. Next time, I may add a little more "heat" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This allowed me to recreate one of my favorite dishes from a local restaurant! Frying the tortillas is essential! Topped them off with sliced black olives, shredded lettuce, shredded monterrey jack cheese, salsa and sour cream! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe but you use chipotle peppers. You can get them in the mexican aisle and they are in cans. This recipe should have more of a sauce to it. We use tomatoes chipotle peppers and some chicken broth. It comes out really good! This is one of my favorite mexican dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vgutierrez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These tasted good but were a bit of a pain for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Made this for a dinner with friends and we all loved it! We actually ended up cooking it in the crock pot with a can of chicken broth for about 3 hours prior to the dinner. This left the chicken super moist and easy to pull apart. The corn tortillas add a nice sweetness to them that I don't think flour would. All and all a really easy recipe that was yummy! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were incredible! My husband wanted them the following night for dinner again! Kids loved them too. I left out the peppers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
i used a whole chicken and cooked and shreaded it. it worked out great. my italian in-laws loved it... i will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lucchi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Orvieto, Umbria, Italy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States