Ting-Town Barbeque Beef Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. My son has a hickory grilled steak house restaurant and when I tried this recipe (with his restaurant in mind) I was so impressed that I took the finished product to the restaurant for a taste test. He and all the servers and cooks tried it and loved it. They plan to put it on the menu. The time consuming part is measuring all the ingredients for the sauce but it is worth it!! Love this site and love, love, love the recipe conversion program on each recipe that allows me to change the number of servings. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I admit it makes no sense at all, but it was mostly nostalgia that drew me to this recipe. Coming from the Iron Range of Northern Minnesota myself, it somehow felt like "home." But it takes more than sentimentality to make a great recipe and this one missed the mark for us. With all the ingredients involved I anticipated something indescribably fantastic, but in the end it was just predominantly sweet and all but masked the rich, beefy flavor you'd want and expect - edible, but not a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This makes a lot of beef barbeque. Mom never made it, but up North we used to have it every now and then for school lunch. I live in the South now, where pork barbeque is king and chicken barbeque comes in second and beef barbeque is rare. But I had a chuck roast I wanted to do something different with so I thought I’d cook some up. Southern hubby gobbled it up. It was great as sandwiches on hamburger rolls. I made this just as written (including open crock sauce thickening and dipping the bun tops) except left out the celery since I had none. I did add 1 tsp. celery seed for a touch of the celery flavor though. I used a good Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce. I only had a 3 ½ lb. roast, but even so, the recipe makes a lot of sauce even if it had been the 4 lb. one specified. Tasty and hearty beef barbeque, all around. Not too sweet, not too spicy. I thought, just about right for the beef. I might tweak it with a little liquid smoke next time. Not hard to make at all. Don’t let the long list of ingredients intimidate you. All are pretty common things you probably have on hand. It really only took me a few minutes to measure out all the stuff in the sauce and you only have to chunk / chop up one onion. I served this with my favorite “Taste of Home’s Creamy Coleslaw” (from this site) that I whipped up in no time. This is a good meal for a day when the family is on the run. Leave the slow cooker on warm, set the package of hamburger buns out on the counter, and let everyone serve them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Exactly what I was looking for. We loved this recipe. I also used 1 cup of beef broth instead of beer. I noticed about 2 hours before it was done that the sauce was thin so I took the lid off of the crock pot for the last 2 hours to thicken it up. Just keep your eye on it. I think if I didn't notice until the last 30 minutes that the sauce was too thin, I wouldn't have had enough time to thicken it up before I served it. This recipe is so flavorful, we are still loving the leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Best barbeque ever, in my book! The only thing I changed was using steak sauce instead of Worchestershire, just because it's what I had. I let it cook all day on low in the crock, then put it on the stovetop for about 45 min on medium-low to thicken the sauce. "Dipping" the buns is a great tip, too. Would make a great 'stuffed' baked potato, IF there were any leftovers! Sending this recipe to my whole family, thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Although there are a lot of ingredients to this recipe and it takes a little extra time getting them all together, the flavor is amazing! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Mmm -- we liked this a lot. Never having had the original, we can't speak to whether it is or isn't, but as written (with one tiny addition) it was great Super Bowl food. And made a ton of leftovers! The one tiny addition: while the meat is out of the cooker for shredding, defat and run the immersion blender through the liquid. I chose to do it this way because while I like the flavor of the celery, I don't like actually eating the celery. I learned that trick a long time ago. Hides the veggies so I don't notice that they're there! It also hides the cooked onions from the kid who won't eat those. Our BBQ sauce choice: Sweet Baby Ray's. We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
YUMMY!!! I seasoned and seared the meat in a hot pan with a few splashes of olive oil before placing it in the crockpot. I then followed the recipe pretty much exactly; the only change I made was to double up on the chili powder and add a little bit of tabasco sauce. Also, when the meat was done, I removed it to shred it and poured the sauce into a stove top pan. Brought it to a rolling boil and used a couple of Tbsp. of cornstarch to thicken it some. Then I put the shredded beef back in the crockpot and added the sauce to it. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! This would work equally as good with pork or chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Fantastic! I discovered too late that I was out of ketchup, so I just used the better part of a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce. Roast got amazingly tender in the crock pot, and made terrific sandwiches - plus plenty of leftover beef that we froze for another meal. We'll definitely be making this again - maybe with pork roast next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
my first try at bbq for my deep-southern husband. we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States