Ting-Town Barbeque Beef Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I admit it makes no sense at all, but it was mostly nostalgia that drew me to this recipe. Coming from the Iron Range of Northern Minnesota myself, it somehow felt like "home." But it takes more than sentimentality to make a great recipe and this one missed the mark for us. With all the ingredients involved I anticipated something indescribably fantastic, but in the end it was just predominantly sweet and all but masked the rich, beefy flavor you'd want and expect - edible, but not a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Anne Norman Hastings
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Cooked this for 7 hours on Saturday and 3 more hours on Sunday. Shredded nicely, taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. It even made enough to share with a friend that has recently had twins! Can't wait to make them again! PS--I made the recipe as is and didn't have any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I grew up in this area of N. Mn., ate these sandwiches all of the time. They're fabulous, bring back many fond memories. They were made of either pork, beef or ham. It's hard to say which was my favorite. Thank you for sharing the recipe. sharon6464
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I have made this as written and it is great however the second time I made it, I made a few changes which improved the flavor for our family. I doubled the chili powder, and doubled the cider vinegar and added several shakes of tabasco sauce. We prefer the tang and heat rather than a sweet bbq. I made it with a pork butt roast before and it was incredible too. This recipe works well in a crock pot but today I didn't have the time needed so I slow cooked it in a french crock with a lid for approximately 4.5 hours at 250 degrees in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k2 kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
With the exception of adding in onion powder and more chili powder, I made this as written and it was a tremendous hit with the family. As others suggested, I removed the meat and thickened the sauce with corn starch. Delicious and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Did a test run with friends. They loved it and now to make a batch for the church luncheon of 150, yikes! Definitely need to boil sauce down and thicken with a teaspoon or so of cornstarch after removing meat. More spice? more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mugsy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Thank you for the delicious recipe! I used 10 pounds of rump roast and because I was using it as the main Entre' at a camping potluck, I chose to do the following at home: cook the meat in the crock pot in beef broth, salt & pepper (due to amount of meat I did two rounds of meat preparation); chopped the onions and celery; mixed all spices & liquids and placed in a leak proof containter, excluding the ketchup & BBQ sauce. At the campground about 4 1/2 hours prior to dinner time, I added the ketchup and BBQ sauce to the other ingredients and combined it with the meat. Cooked on high to heat and then turned to low, stirring often to blend. As other Reviewers indicated, if too much liquid remains, remove cover 30 minutes before serving. I also used beef broth instead of beer. The Ting-Town BBQ Sandwiches were enjoyed by 33 adults and 10 children. There was only enough BBQ left for six sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! I love that I had all the ingredients on hand. Will be saving this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Sauce was a bit weird, family didn't like so much...I'm only giving 3 stars since I think I cooked it too quickly due to lack of time and meat wasn't tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States