Ting-Town Barbeque Beef Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
YUMMY!!! I seasoned and seared the meat in a hot pan with a few splashes of olive oil before placing it in the crockpot. I then followed the recipe pretty much exactly; the only change I made was to double up on the chili powder and add a little bit of tabasco sauce. Also, when the meat was done, I removed it to shred it and poured the sauce into a stove top pan. Brought it to a rolling boil and used a couple of Tbsp. of cornstarch to thicken it some. Then I put the shredded beef back in the crockpot and added the sauce to it. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! This would work equally as good with pork or chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Best barbeque ever, in my book! The only thing I changed was using steak sauce instead of Worchestershire, just because it's what I had. I let it cook all day on low in the crock, then put it on the stovetop for about 45 min on medium-low to thicken the sauce. "Dipping" the buns is a great tip, too. Would make a great 'stuffed' baked potato, IF there were any leftovers! Sending this recipe to my whole family, thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This makes a lot of beef barbeque. Mom never made it, but up North we used to have it every now and then for school lunch. I live in the South now, where pork barbeque is king and chicken barbeque comes in second and beef barbeque is rare. But I had a chuck roast I wanted to do something different with so I thought I’d cook some up. Southern hubby gobbled it up. It was great as sandwiches on hamburger rolls. I made this just as written (including open crock sauce thickening and dipping the bun tops) except left out the celery since I had none. I did add 1 tsp. celery seed for a touch of the celery flavor though. I used a good Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce. I only had a 3 ½ lb. roast, but even so, the recipe makes a lot of sauce even if it had been the 4 lb. one specified. Tasty and hearty beef barbeque, all around. Not too sweet, not too spicy. I thought, just about right for the beef. I might tweak it with a little liquid smoke next time. Not hard to make at all. Don’t let the long list of ingredients intimidate you. All are pretty common things you probably have on hand. It really only took me a few minutes to measure out all the stuff in the sauce and you only have to chunk / chop up one onion. I served this with my favorite “Taste of Home’s Creamy Coleslaw” (from this site) that I whipped up in no time. This is a good meal for a day when the family is on the run. Leave the slow cooker on warm, set the package of hamburger buns out on the counter, and let everyone serve them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I really didn't care much for the sauce when I first tasted it. I added more chili powder, garlic, and brown sugar to the crock pot. It was better after that, but still didn't wow me. I used boneless beef chuck ribs and just let them slow cook on low with the sauce overnight. Won't make this sauce again, but the meat was really easy to shred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Fantastic! I discovered too late that I was out of ketchup, so I just used the better part of a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce. Roast got amazingly tender in the crock pot, and made terrific sandwiches - plus plenty of leftover beef that we froze for another meal. We'll definitely be making this again - maybe with pork roast next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is great! I rubbed it with cajun seasoning and browned it to spice it up first. I also added a teaspoon of colemans dry mustard and few pepper flakes to the sauce. I also used KC masterpiece and did not need any extra on my sandwich. I never need to try another bbq beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe was excellent. If you follow it exactly it thickens up perfectly. The only changes I made was : I rubbed my roast with cajun seasoning and seared it in vegetable oil before putting it in the slow cooker, and I added 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes to the sauce. I used Sweet Baby Ray's for my bbq sauce. These sandwiches had just the right kick and were the best I've had .I will be using this recipe again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I have not tried this recipe yet, but logged on to find a beef barbeque recipe and lo and behold Ting Town popped up. I couldn't believe my eyes. I grew up in Hibbing Ting-Town was always the first stop on the way to Bimbos and McCarthy's Beach! I can't wait to try this recipe! Its gotta be the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I have never responded to any review, but had to on this one. This is absolutely delicious. Will never need to look further for a BBQ recipe!!! Terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States