Tina's Shortbread Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is a delicious, crisp, buttery, chocolately cookie! I used salted butter because that is what I had. I didn't have any nuts, so I didn't use them either. Despite these changes the cookies were still wonderful! The cookies looked raw after baking them 25 minutes, but I took them out anyway and put them on the cooling rack. After about 15 minutes, they were crisp and still warm. My husband brought some to his friends at work and they loved them! I plan on doubling the recipe next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wow!! But, I made some changes, added 1 tsp vanilla, and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, doubling the recipe. Also, I used chopped pecans and crushed Heathbar....and Oh my God. I cannot wait to serve them up on Thanksgiving, hubby and I tasted, and they are buttery, scrumptious little bite of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingIsSexy71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
This cookie is a delicious, decadent treat. Besides being a cookie that freezes well, it mails well too! Because I frequently makes "care packages" to send to friends who are all over the world, finding a mailable cookie recipe is a definite plus! I will make these cookies often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Oh, my goodness. Where have these cookies been all my life? So light, buttery and flaky like shortbread should be, and then there are the chocolate chips! Heaven. One thing I can say is that, with the butter and sugar I beat it very, very well to make sure I got a nice, fluffy cookie. A lot of choc chip cookie recipes will say to cream the butter and sugar but I beat the butter and sugar together within an inch of it's life. I also used salted butter and it was fine. I gave mine 15 minutes in the oven. The cookies are going to look like they aren't done when they first come out of the oven--they're fine! Just let them sit for a few minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allielikesjazz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I just made these cookies and they were not good at all, the kids did not like them at all,Can someone tell me if maybe I did something wrong? I followed the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Wonderful recipe! These were so delicious, just what I was looking for for my holiday baking. Thanks for sharing this great recipe Tina. I am going to share it with my friends who love shortbread cookies as well! I do want to add, I have a problem with others who critize the recipe saying they don't taste like chocolate chip cookies. These are shortbread cookies with chocolate chips. They won't taste like your typical chocolate chip cookie, they will taste like a shortbread cookie with a bite of chocolate chip and walnut. A suggestion for those whose cookies turned out to have butter running out of them when baking, softened butter and not melted butter should be used when baking cookies, that may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
These cookies are great shortbread cookies! They taste even better then the chocolate chip shortbread cookies I have bought at the store. I don't like nuts so I left those out. These are NOT regular chocolate chip cookies. They are shortbread, which means they will taste different. Some of the other reviews said there was something missing. There is only something missing if you don't like shortbread. These are perfect and I will definitely be making them again. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
AWESOME COOKIES I did try a few changes by going 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup icing sugar instead of 1/2 white.I also cut back the choco chips to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup choco sprinkle. Both variations were excellent. Make sure you keep to the 300 degrees F and just keep checking them until they are golden. Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLADYDI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are really great shortbread cookies. I have made them at least 3 times. This year, I am adding them to the Christmas cookie tray. I leave out the nuts and use mini chocolate chips. It yields 34 cookies with a standard cookie scoop. At that size they take the full 20 minutes exactly. It is an easy yet tasty cookie. Thank you, Tina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These cookies are amazing they just melt in your mouth. I followed the recipe but only had mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans.I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States