Tina's Shortbread Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Oh my goodness these are fantastic, this recipe is a keeper. I have a son in the Air Force & I will be sending him some soon! I doubled the recipe & they are all gone! The changes I made came from another reviewers suggestions (thank you): I added 1 tsp vanilla extract, instead of white sugar I used 1/2 organic evap cane sugar & 1/2 organic Sucanat, I used salted butter, I finely chopped pecans & regular sized organic chips, I also cooked the cookies in mini muffin papers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
It was good! Quick, easy, and satisfied my sweet-toothed family. The cookies were a bit flat because my husbnd didn't flatten it "slightly". Also used mini chips as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This has quickly become a family favorite! I just made them for a second time yesterday, and these are the changes I made that helped them turn out perfect! 1) Upped the oven eat to 350F. 2) Reduced butter to 3/4 cup. 3) 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar. 4) Reduced to 1/2 cup chocolate chips. 5) Added 1 tsp vanilla 5) Baked for 20 min, cooled for 15 min. Remember to flatten the cookies before baking them. When they first come out of the oven, they taste cakey and bland. So wait for them to harden! Believe me, they taste a whole world better. So buttery and crisp and salty/sweet -- delicious with milk or coffee! And not too sweet like regular soft chocolate chip cookies. Remember to flatten them before they go in the oven -- they only expand a little. They are big, neat, scone-looking cookies. This yielded exactly 12 medium-sized cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Made these according to recipe but when I went to shape them they just kept falling apart. Did I screw up somewhere? The crumbs were AMAZING how ever! Planning on turning it into a pie crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Used mini semisweet chocolate chips and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I made the cookies very small since it was for a potluck and that was the perfect size because the cookies are rich. They melt in your mouth and are great to serve with coffee or tea. I would not recommend using margarine with this recipe because butter is essential for the texture and delicate taste of these cookies. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CityKitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
So good! I used mini semi-sweet chips instead of the larger ones, and ground walnuts. They are excellent! These aren't like toll-house choc chip cookies... but I think the shortbread "element" makes them amazing. I have looked at this recipe for quite some time, and I am so glad I finally made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My god. These cookies are a revelation to me. These are the very first cookies that I've made from scratch that were easy and came out perfectly. I'm really not much of a baker, but I just got a convection oven in my apartment and wanted to try it out. For those interested, the best temp and time I've found for the convection setting was 275 for 13 minutes. Do yourself a favor and make these delicious little cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ereteshka
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and these were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow! These are DELISH! I'm just enjoying a couple warm outta the oven right now. I left the nuts out, and added a tsp of vanilla. Perfect delicate texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Not bad. Very buttery, which might appeal to some but was a bit much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States