Tina's Shortbread Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This has quickly become a family favorite! I just made them for a second time yesterday, and these are the changes I made that helped them turn out perfect! 1) Upped the oven eat to 350F. 2) Reduced butter to 3/4 cup. 3) 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar. 4) Reduced to 1/2 cup chocolate chips. 5) Added 1 tsp vanilla 5) Baked for 20 min, cooled for 15 min. Remember to flatten the cookies before baking them. When they first come out of the oven, they taste cakey and bland. So wait for them to harden! Believe me, they taste a whole world better. So buttery and crisp and salty/sweet -- delicious with milk or coffee! And not too sweet like regular soft chocolate chip cookies. Remember to flatten them before they go in the oven -- they only expand a little. They are big, neat, scone-looking cookies. This yielded exactly 12 medium-sized cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Made these according to recipe but when I went to shape them they just kept falling apart. Did I screw up somewhere? The crumbs were AMAZING how ever! Planning on turning it into a pie crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Used mini semisweet chocolate chips and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I made the cookies very small since it was for a potluck and that was the perfect size because the cookies are rich. They melt in your mouth and are great to serve with coffee or tea. I would not recommend using margarine with this recipe because butter is essential for the texture and delicate taste of these cookies. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CityKitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
So good! I used mini semi-sweet chips instead of the larger ones, and ground walnuts. They are excellent! These aren't like toll-house choc chip cookies... but I think the shortbread "element" makes them amazing. I have looked at this recipe for quite some time, and I am so glad I finally made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My god. These cookies are a revelation to me. These are the very first cookies that I've made from scratch that were easy and came out perfectly. I'm really not much of a baker, but I just got a convection oven in my apartment and wanted to try it out. For those interested, the best temp and time I've found for the convection setting was 275 for 13 minutes. Do yourself a favor and make these delicious little cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ereteshka
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and these were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow! These are DELISH! I'm just enjoying a couple warm outta the oven right now. I left the nuts out, and added a tsp of vanilla. Perfect delicate texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Not bad. Very buttery, which might appeal to some but was a bit much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
tasted undercooked and too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Fabulous melt in your mouth cookies. I suggest using mini chocolate chips and finely chopped pecans. I baked these at 275 for 60 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States