Tina's Pumpkin Spice Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I made this in a 9x13 pan and cooked for 38 minutes - came out great. Topped with commerical cream cheese frosting. More like a spice cake, than "bars." But really very good. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My friend made this cake for a baby shower and it disappeared in no time flat. She made a simple cream cheese frosing from 1 stick butter/1 package cream cheese, 1 tbsp vanilla and 2 cups powdered sugar, and the cake melted in your mouth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Wonderful! I agree that it is more of a cake than a bar, but thats alright with me. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, and reseved a little and dyed a little green and a little orange and decorated a little pumpkin on each piece. Very cute for Halloween or Fall treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very tasty and moist. If you don't have all three spices, you can substitute them for McCormick's Pumpkin Pie Spice. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
My family loves these things. My husband tells people they are bad just so that he can eat them all. I have to stop him sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I can't say enough good things about this pumpkin spice cake. It is very moist, tender and not too sweet. The spices are just right. The only change I made was to bake this in a 9 x 13 inch pan because I didn't have the specified size. I had to bake it an extra ten minutes. It turned out perfect. I made homemade cream cheese frosting and topped with toasted pecans. Everyone at Thanksgiving loved this and took pieces home with them so it must have been good. Thanks for a new go-to Thanksgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I loved this! So moist with a nice balance of the spices. Instead of bars, I made this as a bundt cake; just bake for an hour and ten minutes. Cream cheese frosting is awesome on this too. Completely devoured by my coworkers and then at my sister's birthday party. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe- we're not pumpkin pie eaters, so my family asked me to make this for Thanksgiving this year. I only used 1/2 cup oil and subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for the rest. The cake was so moist and flavorful! I followed another reviewer's advice for the cream cheese frosting: 1 stick butter, 1 (8 oz) block cream cheese, 1 Tbsp vanilla, 2 cups confectioner's sugar. So smooth and creamy, the perfect topper to this cake! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Loved the spice combination. Will be making this again very soon! I was 1/3 cup short of 2 cups of white sugar so I substituted brown sugar for white in the last 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this for a party and everyone really enjoyed them. Used applesauce instead of oil to save some calories. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States