Tina's Halloween Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is super simple and super tasty just as written! You could certainly spice up the sweet potato mixture with caramelized onion, sauteed garlic, and any number of spices / seasonings - however I really enjoyed the simplicity of the texture and flavor of the mashed sweet potato with the black beans and some salsa to top them off. I will definitely make these again! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Yummy! As well as many of you, I added some sauteed onion as well as some cinnamon to the potatoes. And along with the beans, I also added a couple spoonfuls of sweet corn kernels (just steamed a frozen bag). And we dipped them in a sweet creamy sauce: plain greek yogurt sweetened with some brown sugar and cinnamon. That tasted awesome with this unique blend of flavors!! Will make it again for sure! ~BFogie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Good and super easy. Microwaved the sweet potatoes which made the prep time really short! My 2 year old gobbled them up along with the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These were very good! Everyone, including the kids, loved them. I followed others' advice and added sauteed onion and cumin to the mashed sweet potato. I also simplified the assembly-I put the tortilla in the pan and added a thin layer of cheese. When it melted, I layered on the sweet potato, beans, more cheese, and another tortilla. By then the bottom tortilla was almost golden and ready to be flipped over. I initially stacked the quesadillas to keep warm, but the ones on the bottom lost their crispiness, so I recommend laying them separately on cookie sheets until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
My kids absolutely love these. I've made them multiple times, now. Be creative-- cut out a triangle, put a bean on top, and call it Pac Man! A great way to use my seasonal sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Cute that the quesadillas are orange but they don't taste anything like sun dried tomatoes! There are jalapeno flavored tortillas that are orange, maybe they're tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I cannot believe how absolutely simple and delicious these are. My four year old could not stop talking and raving over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! I followed others suggestions and added sauteed onions and cumin. I don't like the texture of beans, so I mashed them in with the potatoes. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Carmelized a small chopped onion, and added between 1/8 and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon along with cumin and a sprinkle of cayenne. We didn't need the salsa, and used multigrain tortillas. Great for the vegetarians among us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was skeptical. But the combination of flavors was delicious. A resounding hit with the whole family and we don't even like sweet potatoes! Only change I made was corn tortillas. Great! Easy, cheap, nutritious: five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States