Tina's Greek Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Excellent. Made to recipe, no changes and they were very delicious. Garnished with fresh basil. Light but filling and low in fat, very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I really enjoyed this different take on stuffed peppers. I left out the lamb b/c I'm vegetarian, but I figure I can still rate the recipe on preparation and overall flavor. I enjoyed the filling but the recipe does make a lot of it (not really a problem I'll just have that on it's own tomorrow). I had this with some herbed feta i had laying around and the flavors went together beautifully. I roasted the peppers at 350 and left them in the oven for a bit b/c I like my peppers nice and soft. Overall, a really filling and flavorful meal, even without the meat. Thanks for sharing, Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Tina is a genius! These are so delicious. I used .5 pounds lamb with 1 pound ground beef (will either use all beef next time or still maintain the same ratio as I don't love lamb), and half an onion based on personal preference. To circumvent what everyone was saying about the undercooked pepper, I blanched them for 2 minutes each in boiling water then threw them into ice water immediately. After filling and baking, there was still some crunch left to the peppers but they were cooked perfectly. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the T and thought these were amazing. Also, this recipe makes a perfect amount of stuffing. Most recipes that require stuffing - you're always worried that there isn't enough stuffing, but this made enough to fill 6 green peppers (I always get them from Whole Foods - they have the most gorgeous, giant green peppers), and leave some loose for extra nibbling and round out that meal for the hubby. Most of the time I have to bump up a 6 serving meal to make 6 true servings for us, but this one is dead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were awesome! I'm sure they'd be great as written, but I modified to suit my fridge and preferences. :) I used about 1.3lbs ground turkey I had, browned and seasoned in a skillet after browning the onion and garlic (less oregano and more basil than written). I made 1 cup (pre-cooked amount) of quinoa and added that when it was done, added 2 large diced tomatoes, a large handful of fresh spinach chopped, the can of tomato paste, about 2 cups of feta (we love feta and get it in bulk at Costco), and also added half a can of diced tomatoes because it seemed like it needed more moisture to go around the extra meat and quinoa. Cut 8 peppers lengthwise, rubbed in olive oil, arranged in 2 baking dishes (couldn't fit all the halves), salted and peppered them, then stuffed and baked for 35 min at 400 and sprinkled grated parm on top in last 5 min. Peppers were soft enough, and it was freakin' delish in a dish. Took one dish to a friend who just had a baby and she raved. Still had enough filling left over to eat plain (which was also delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious and REALLY filling. I was looking for a new take on a stuffed pepper recipe, and this was it. The only thing that I would change is a little more basil, a little less oregano. But, if you are looking for a delicious all-in-one dinner, this is it. I also had a salad on the side, and it was way too much food... the pepper is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used orange peppers, substituted brown rice for the orzo pasta, used 5 cups of fresh spinach and beef for the lamb. It was soooooo delicious that I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very tasty! I prepared the recipe as directed and had leftover filling. Since my 22 month old isn't crazy about peppers, this was fine. She really loved the filling itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband loves Greek food so I thought he would love this, but when I asked his input he suggested rating it only 4 stars! His reason was now that he has been eating goat cheese rather than feta on his salads everyday, he has developed a preference for goat cheese and didn't care for the feta. I prefer feta and think most people do, so I won't deduct a star for that! I absolutely LOVED this so I overruled and gave it 5 stars. Also, I normally don't eat lamb because I didn't think I liked it, but I DID use it in this and it was awesome! Don't automatically substitute beef if you're not familiar with lamb! Try it in this recipe, the flavors go great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Absolutely a keeper! I did sub 4 c. fresh spinach, chopped and cut back a bit on the basil and oregano. Thanks, Tina! (BTW, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
delicious made with turkey had lots of filling left over which we had for another meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States