Tina's Greek Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband loves Greek food so I thought he would love this, but when I asked his input he suggested rating it only 4 stars! His reason was now that he has been eating goat cheese rather than feta on his salads everyday, he has developed a preference for goat cheese and didn't care for the feta. I prefer feta and think most people do, so I won't deduct a star for that! I absolutely LOVED this so I overruled and gave it 5 stars. Also, I normally don't eat lamb because I didn't think I liked it, but I DID use it in this and it was awesome! Don't automatically substitute beef if you're not familiar with lamb! Try it in this recipe, the flavors go great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious and REALLY filling. I was looking for a new take on a stuffed pepper recipe, and this was it. The only thing that I would change is a little more basil, a little less oregano. But, if you are looking for a delicious all-in-one dinner, this is it. I also had a salad on the side, and it was way too much food... the pepper is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used orange peppers, substituted brown rice for the orzo pasta, used 5 cups of fresh spinach and beef for the lamb. It was soooooo delicious that I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I was looking for something to use up the last of my orzo and I love stuffed peppers so this one really caught my eye. I added about 1/2 C pine nuts and just a sprinkle of parmesan on top. I also cut my peppers in half (stem to base) for smaller portions. I prefer my peppers a little softer than these came out so next time I will bake them for 1 hr. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious filling. I took some suggestions and added pine nuts. Also, instead of two chopped tomatoes, I used a can of diced tomatoes and I think it could still use some more sauce. I added some dried mint and a dash of cinnamon for more Greek flair. This does make a ridiculous amount of filling, unless your peppers are gigantic, you can fill a 1 1/2 quart casserole easily to cook alongside. I've made this with lamb and beef, lamb is tastier but the beef is pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were good, I'm sure I threw the flavor off a little because my budget just can't afford for lamb so I replaced it with ground turkey. I had tones of extra filling and found that we highly preferred it in the peppers. The peppers added a extra layer of flavor. I agree these are quite filling and good! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Tina is a genius! These are so delicious. I used .5 pounds lamb with 1 pound ground beef (will either use all beef next time or still maintain the same ratio as I don't love lamb), and half an onion based on personal preference. To circumvent what everyone was saying about the undercooked pepper, I blanched them for 2 minutes each in boiling water then threw them into ice water immediately. After filling and baking, there was still some crunch left to the peppers but they were cooked perfectly. Otherwise, followed the recipe to the T and thought these were amazing. Also, this recipe makes a perfect amount of stuffing. Most recipes that require stuffing - you're always worried that there isn't enough stuffing, but this made enough to fill 6 green peppers (I always get them from Whole Foods - they have the most gorgeous, giant green peppers), and leave some loose for extra nibbling and round out that meal for the hubby. Most of the time I have to bump up a 6 serving meal to make 6 true servings for us, but this one is dead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Excellent. Made to recipe, no changes and they were very delicious. Garnished with fresh basil. Light but filling and low in fat, very healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Absolutely a keeper! I did sub 4 c. fresh spinach, chopped and cut back a bit on the basil and oregano. Thanks, Tina! (BTW, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
A great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States