Tim's Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Was very pleased with this soup/stew. Has quickly become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is very good! Does not say what kind of sausage to use,so I used mild italian,only 1 pound because that's all I had. I used 4 small cans of low salt chicken broth(less than stated) and 28oz can Contadina crushed tomatoes in puree. Since I didn't use full amount of broth, I figured I better cut back on seasoning, so I used only half of each. I didn't have zucchini,so I added a bag of frozen green beans with carrots. You could probaly use peas too. As it cooked I wanted it a little thicker so I added one more tablespoon flour mixed with a little water. This may be a little spicey for young ones,but my family loved it. Serve with bisquits and it's a great meal! Thanks Tim,we really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I added an onion and 3 cloves of garlic, 1/2 green pepper, 1/2 a red pepper. I also added celery seed and red hot chili peppers. I really enjoyed this recipe especially with what I added. It was easy and very yummy. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Easy to make and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as Tim had written it. The only change I made was that I doubled it for a church potluck. I made it the night before and let it sit in the refrigerator until morning and then heated in my electric pot. I came home from church with an empty bowl and requests from at least 6-8 people who want the recipe. My family also tasted it and thought it was great. Thanks Tim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
With the sausage I used, this was a great combo of flavors. It seemed a bit greasy, so I chilled it overnight then skimmed the fat off the top the next day. Next time we get italian sausage, we will get an extra couple pounds so we can make this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
A delicious simple meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I thought this recipe was extra special when I added extra fennel seed, fresh oregano, and fresh Italian parlsey. A sprinkle of crushed red pepper didn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWFATQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I wasn't sure what type of sausage to use either-I had a choice of kielbasa or Italian and I choose Italian (1.5 lbs). Took reviewer "Berrieboo's" advice and added chopped onion, minced garlic, chopped red and green bell pepper, and some celery seed. I think fennel seeds would also be a great addition if your not already using Italian sausage (some already have fennel seeds in the sausage). Also, no Acini de Pepe pasta so I used 3/4 cup of small egg noodles. Came out great! This was a warming lunch = esspecially since MN weather went from 87 degrees on Monday to snow today!! Thanks Tim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Awsome recipe! My husband is a big smoked sausage fan and was happy with the stew! We need more smoked sausage recipes like this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States