Tim's Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
After being out of town for a week I wasn't in the mood for grocery shopping yet still needed to come up with something quick, healthy and satisfying for supper and this was it - coming home to find zucchini and peppers in my garden was a godsend. In no time flat and with very little effort I had a wholesome, delicious meal on the table. This is a great starter recipe, one that allows for great latitude with your own tastes and ingredients in mind. I removed the casings from three Italian sausage links, browned it, then drained and rinsed it to remove the excess grease. I returned the sausage to the pan along with chopped onion, green pepper and garlic and cooked that in olive oil until the vegetables were almost tender. I didn't measure exactly, but added some of my own marinara sauce from my garden, the chicken broth, an Italian seasoning blend to taste and a healthy splash of red wine. I did not use the flour. I let that simmer for about half and hour and the aroma was wonderful! Added the zucchini and acini di pepe as directed in the recipe and at the last added a can of cannellini beans. Ladled into big soup bowls and topped with freshly grated Parmesan cheese this was a quick, impromptu meal to be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Hmm..I made this because it got so many rave reviews..It was good but not OMG 5 stars - I probably should have read others suggestions in detail but was rushing..This is definitely more of a soup- I like a little more substance. I would consider making again w/others suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I add sliced carrots and celery to the receipe. Love this soup. I also use Jimmy Dead Reduced Fat Sausage and fry it up like hamburger instead of using link sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This has to be one of my favorite recipes for smoked sausage... it both smells and tastes fantastic! The minor changes I made were to use 1 can of chicken broth,one can of tomato sauce and a little white wine per 1 lb of beef smoked sausage. I substituted orzo pasta and added frozen cut green beans instead of zucchini. A wonderful dinner with corn muffins and iced tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was skeptical that something so simple good be so delicious. I was wrong - it is a great recipe and I make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very good. Very few small changes-I used rice instead of the pasta and used sweet italian sausage. I also added green pepper, a couple of minced garlic cloves and a touch of beef broth with the chicken broth. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Troy Holt
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used hot Italian sausages and sliced them it into 1/2 inch slices (blobs with 1/2 inch casings, really). After browning, I added a couple of carrots, a stalk of celery, a medium onion, and 2 cloves of garlic; chopped medium (the garlic was minced). After sauteing for 5 minutes, added 2 Tbsp flour and cooked a couple more minutes. Followed the recipe for the rest, except couldn't find acini di pepe, so substituted pastina (which are dopey little stars in my fine soup, definitely have to get the right pasta for guests). Result is definitely soupy, not stewy. I love this soup, and with two bowls in my tummy right now, I know it loves me, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I can't say enough about this recipe. We use hot chicken Italian sausage, red pepper flakes, 3 14.5oz cans of broth with no change in the recipe's measurements for the basil and oregano, 1/2 an onion, garlic, celery seed, and some extra flour thanks to everyone's suggestions. I think a 1/2 cup of acini di pepe pasta is plenty, but if you're using a larger type of pasta you may wish to throw in a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made this recipe tonight and I have to say it was really good. I added an additional tbsp. of flour and also used frozen corn in place of the zucchini and a different pasta since it was all I had on hand. I will have to try it with the real stuff next time. I did think that there was too much sausage for my preference, but the broth is so fantastic-a great recipe to add your own style to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States