Tim's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Great recipe. I especially appreciate that there's no "processed cheese food" in it. I did end up using about 8oz of fresh grated muenster (came to about 1 maybe 1 1/2 cups) and another 3 oz of fresh grated sharp white cheddar. So maybe a total of about 2 cups of cheese. It tasted great and the cheese melted really well. I do wish I'd taken one of the other reviewers advice and cooked the roux w/ milk a little longer because I do think it was a touch floury but it was very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I liked this recipe & it has become my 'base' recipe. I've added whole grain mustard to taste, dry sherry, & 1 lb of grated cheese....to satisfy my teen's "I want more cheesey taste." Thank-you Tim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was so easy to prepare and a big hit with the family. I did tweak it a bit after reading reviews. I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar, added parmesan cheese, and used ritz cracker crumb topping in place of bread. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This went together quickly and tasted good. Be sure to cook the butter/flour mixture (roux) for at least one minute to cook away the floury taste. A whisk works better here, and when adding the milk and cheese, than a spoon. I used at least twice as much cheese as called for, and used extra sharp cheese for a great cheesy taste. To compensate for the extra cheese, I should have added 1/2 cup more milk to make the final dish creamier. On top, I mixed some more grated cheddar with the buttered crumbs and this was probably the best part of the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I added 3x the cheese as well and also added some garlic power because I found it too powdery and like the box mac n' cheese. I also added dry Italian flavored bread crumbs for more pizazz! This recipe turned out quite nice after I made those alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barlessprison
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Wow. This is amazing. I followed a reviewer's tip and used Ritz crackers as the topping and it came out delightfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, (except for crushed Ritz crackers as topping). I've been looking for 'the best' recipe for mac & cheese and finally found it - this one is the best! The only negative thing is IT IS RICH!! - watch out how much you eat..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I took the advice and doubled the cheese. THe mac n chz is missing something tho. I would recommend using some brocolli or tuna next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
yum! what a crowd pleaser. my kids loved this mac and cheese dish. perhaps next time I'll use whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was really good. I made it in a ramekin for one and it turned out excellent. I'm sure I'll make it again, probably still in ramekins for individual servings. I did double the cheese as recommended by others and didn't have any day old bread so I used the coarse homemade sourdough breadcrumbs I already had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States