Tim's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I had to add an additional 2T of flour to make the roux even slightly thick. This is tasty, but dry. The crumbs with melted butter made the topping deliciously crispy without being hard. I'll probably make this again, but double the sauce and/or cover the pan for the majority of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joshua Robinson
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Used this recipe turned really good. I did use bacon in mine turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Great recipe. I especially appreciate that there's no "processed cheese food" in it. I did end up using about 8oz of fresh grated muenster (came to about 1 maybe 1 1/2 cups) and another 3 oz of fresh grated sharp white cheddar. So maybe a total of about 2 cups of cheese. It tasted great and the cheese melted really well. I do wish I'd taken one of the other reviewers advice and cooked the roux w/ milk a little longer because I do think it was a touch floury but it was very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I liked this recipe & it has become my 'base' recipe. I've added whole grain mustard to taste, dry sherry, & 1 lb of grated cheese....to satisfy my teen's "I want more cheesey taste." Thank-you Tim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was so easy to prepare and a big hit with the family. I did tweak it a bit after reading reviews. I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar, added parmesan cheese, and used ritz cracker crumb topping in place of bread. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This went together quickly and tasted good. Be sure to cook the butter/flour mixture (roux) for at least one minute to cook away the floury taste. A whisk works better here, and when adding the milk and cheese, than a spoon. I used at least twice as much cheese as called for, and used extra sharp cheese for a great cheesy taste. To compensate for the extra cheese, I should have added 1/2 cup more milk to make the final dish creamier. On top, I mixed some more grated cheddar with the buttered crumbs and this was probably the best part of the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I added 3x the cheese as well and also added some garlic power because I found it too powdery and like the box mac n' cheese. I also added dry Italian flavored bread crumbs for more pizazz! This recipe turned out quite nice after I made those alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barlessprison
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Wow. This is amazing. I followed a reviewer's tip and used Ritz crackers as the topping and it came out delightfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, (except for crushed Ritz crackers as topping). I've been looking for 'the best' recipe for mac & cheese and finally found it - this one is the best! The only negative thing is IT IS RICH!! - watch out how much you eat..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I took the advice and doubled the cheese. THe mac n chz is missing something tho. I would recommend using some brocolli or tuna next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States