Tim's Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good! Even my husband liked it and he is not a fan of lamb (or goat). I used cubed goat shoulder and increased the liquid quite a bit by adding 4 cups of water to the beef broth. I also added chopped celery, rosemary, and oregano. Then simmered it for several hours on low. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy to make! My husband had 3 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was a really good stew. Next time I would use a little less flour. I cooked it in a crock pot on high and increased the cooking time a little. Seasonings were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My husband is from Ireland, so I made this as part of a traditional Irish dinner (NOT corned beef and cabbage!). He LOVED it and said it was like something that would be served in a nice restaurant in Ireland. I used half of a 5 lb. leg of lamb (couldn't find anyhting else - it was great!) and froze the rest to use again. I doubled the beef broth since that was the amount in the container I bought. I think this was perfect with the amount of flour and oil called for in the recipe. I used a bag of Yukon Gold small potatoes (no peeling needed!) I also added 4 stalks of celery, a tsp. of caraway seed (not necessary), and a few more herbs (rosemary, oregano, basil, extra parsley, and sage - didn't have thyme, oops). Great recipe that will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this stew, it hit the spot! I DID decrease the oil-flour mix, and it thickened up just fine without it without tasting floury. I'd suggest making it in 2 TB increments to taste, that's what I did. Slightly more time consuming, but it got me a stew that was thick without a flour taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is fabulous. I didn't use the oil, just added the flour directly because I am just that good and it was great. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The overall taste was great, will make again, but not so much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
this was a pretty good recipe. i did have to add more water. i really liked the parsley and thyme for the broth - it added a very nice flavor. i also peeled and cubed butternut squash and added it to the stew. it was very tastey! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This stew came out really good, but there are a few things that I changed or would change in the future. Most importantly, I would make a proper rue instead of the oil/flour mix. My stew had a slightly floury taste that could have been avoided if I cooked the flour a bit before adding to the stew. I also reduced the amount by half after reading previous reviews. I added a parsnip and one rib of celery to the stew as well and they both tasted great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States