Tim's Green Bean Casserole Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
A very nice change from the traditional green bean casserole. I made this for a pre-Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I added some bacon and used the french-fried onion rings. I also cut back on the sour cream. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This really is different in a good way. I serve this on special occasions. Be sure not to over brown the butter or it will burn and ruin the whole thing. Serve piping hot, if it gets to cool the swiss will have the yuck factor...like when chicken cordon bleu gets cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I agree that it's a little bland, as is. I add a package of onion soup mix to my sour cream. I cut the sour cream a little and increased the swiss cheese. I also use french onions instead of the cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very good, rich and cheesy. This is easy to do as well. I substituted French Onions for the cornflakes and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a hit with for Thanksgiving! I did add some seasonings to our taste and used the fried onions in place of corn flakes. Everyone kept remarking how good the green beans tasted this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I tried this for our Thanksgiving dinner. I really loved it! It has a nice flavor and texture. It was easy to prepare. Thanks for posting it. I'd recommend this to anyone. Dottie in WY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Remarkably unremarkable. Flavorless. I think that the ingredients are a good start but this recipe is not finished. When making the sour-cream/butter/flour/cheese paste, taste it because THAT will be the over-all flavor of the dish and then build on it from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For green bean casserole,which usually is not very popular because of it's consistency, this recipe was actually quite surprising and appatizing!I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and my family members who had never liked green bean casserole had seconds and thirds.Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This was gone in minutes at our holiday dinner, I only got a small taste since everyone loved it!! It will be our new holiday tradition for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I automatically cut the s. cream by half (using only 1 c.). I also added chopped bacon and onion powder for a little more flavor. An additional can of green beans to make it go a little farther. Thinned the sauce slightly w/ a little milk and then added the cheese. It was very good and such a nice change from the "usual" green bean dish. Topped it off w/ the french fried onions instead of the topping as in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States