Tim's Green Bean Casserole Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This really is different in a good way. I serve this on special occasions. Be sure not to over brown the butter or it will burn and ruin the whole thing. Serve piping hot, if it gets to cool the swiss will have the yuck factor...like when chicken cordon bleu gets cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I agree that it's a little bland, as is. I add a package of onion soup mix to my sour cream. I cut the sour cream a little and increased the swiss cheese. I also use french onions instead of the cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very good, rich and cheesy. This is easy to do as well. I substituted French Onions for the cornflakes and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a hit with for Thanksgiving! I did add some seasonings to our taste and used the fried onions in place of corn flakes. Everyone kept remarking how good the green beans tasted this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I tried this for our Thanksgiving dinner. I really loved it! It has a nice flavor and texture. It was easy to prepare. Thanks for posting it. I'd recommend this to anyone. Dottie in WY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Remarkably unremarkable. Flavorless. I think that the ingredients are a good start but this recipe is not finished. When making the sour-cream/butter/flour/cheese paste, taste it because THAT will be the over-all flavor of the dish and then build on it from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For green bean casserole,which usually is not very popular because of it's consistency, this recipe was actually quite surprising and appatizing!I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and my family members who had never liked green bean casserole had seconds and thirds.Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This was gone in minutes at our holiday dinner, I only got a small taste since everyone loved it!! It will be our new holiday tradition for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I automatically cut the s. cream by half (using only 1 c.). I also added chopped bacon and onion powder for a little more flavor. An additional can of green beans to make it go a little farther. Thinned the sauce slightly w/ a little milk and then added the cheese. It was very good and such a nice change from the "usual" green bean dish. Topped it off w/ the french fried onions instead of the topping as in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe is a fantastic idea and a welcome change from traditional green bean casserole. I would give it five stars, but as the recipe was, it was a little flavorless for me, so like a lot of reviewers, I added bacon and also added a little (about 2 tbsp.) feta cheese. That seemed to take care of the blandness. I also used twice the amount of butter that was called for in order to completely moisten the corn flake crumbs. I'll be making this again and often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States