Tim's Green Bean Casserole Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
this is my favorite. Instead of the cornflakes and butter i used french fried onions and I also add some cheddar shred to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Not your mothers green bean casserole... AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is obvisously a VERY heavy recipe. Don't make it if you are looking for something light. I made a few changes and I thought it was really good! I used 1lb fresh green beans, added some garlic, used 7oz of Brie and instead of corn flakes I used a box of Blue Diamond Almond Nut Thin crackers. The almond flour crackers were a really nice mix w/the casserole. I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I have done this recipe twice now and there is never a drop left.-- bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnatherealtor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This has been our family favorite for over 30 years. Melt the butter in a saucepan and add in flour, 2 tsp.salt, 1 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. instant minced onion and 2 tsp. sugar. I use cut green beans, not the stringy french. I don't melt the Swiss cheese into the green bean mixture but layer it on top. Spread this in a 9x13 pan. For the topping I only use 1 cup of cornflake crumbs with 1/2 cup butter. Just sprinkle over the top for a light coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this for Christmas, and my only complaint is that I used fresh rather than canned greenbeans, and the sweetness didn't blend well with the rest of the ingredients. Will definitely make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eufaula, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I had higher hopes for this than it delivered. I should have known it might be on the bland side without any spice. The sour cream/cheese mixture came out almost rubbery. I may try the recipe again, but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Made this for dinner and got rave reviews! Even people who claim they don't like sour cream in anything loved it! I'll be making it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I was tasked with the green bean casserole for the Christmas dinner but knew we had guests who hated mushrooms etc. so I decided on this. After reading other reviews I decided on changing it a bit. I wanted to fill my 2 1/2 quart pan so I did the following: I used 3 14 oz packages of frozen beans, barely cooked (french cut next time?). I added 1/2 lb of crumbled bacon. Half a can of french fried onions. A little more cheese and sour cream. Sweated half an onion in the butter (a little more butter too). It filled the pan perfectly. The flavor was very good and the texture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
A very nice change from the traditional green bean casserole. I made this for a pre-Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I added some bacon and used the french-fried onion rings. I also cut back on the sour cream. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States