Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved this....although I made some changes....I sauteed the onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and some baby carrots in some evoo. Then I added 2 bunches of broccoli and a large head of cauliflower washed and cut into small pieces, added pepper, crushed thyme and a sprinkle of cayenne(didn't have any curry). I let that cook for about 5-7 minutes, then added the chicken broth(low sodium) and added an extra cup of water with a chicken boullion packet. Let that cook until the veggies were tender and then I whipped it through my food processor making sure I left some chunks for texture. Added that back to the pot, mixed 1% milk with the flour, let that thicken, adjusted the seasonings, and added 1 pk of shredded cheddar and the kernels of 1 leftover corn on the cob shaved off. (It was like I cleaned out the fridge!) What a fabulous soup!!! Nice and thick and rich with so many veggies.....even my 1 year old loved it....will make again and keep in my rotation for the fall/winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is REALLY good...I altered it a bit, I added leek and when all the veggies were cooked I whizzed the soup with the hand held mixer until it was smooth and then put the milk and cheese in. YUM. We're having it with the roasted garlic cauliflower for dinner and it all smells divine (I've been sneaking bites of soup, too good to wait) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Very good. It reminds me of broccoli cheese soup but with a little kick. I wanted it a little creamier so to get the same consistency as broccoli cheese soup, I added 1/2 cup of flour instead of 1/4 cup. I also grated a little extra cheese on top because I'm a cheese fanatic and it makes the presentation prettier. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a delicious soup! I followed the directions as written but I added extra curry powder and some garam masala spice. I also pureed the soup with a hand blender because I prefer a smooth consistency. My boyfriend took some for lunch the next day and his co-workers were asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I can't get enough of this soup...quick, easy, and SO GOOD! Make sure to finely chop the veggies, so it comes out thick. And don't omit the curry, it is the key ingredient. Also, good with vegetable broth and bouillon. Thank you, Tim Perry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very tasty. I didn't have any cauliflower so I just used all broccoli and it was great! The curry gives it an excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My husband, who does not like soup, loved this soup!! I have made twice now in the past couple of weeks as I had an abundance of cauliflower. The first time according to directions, the second as a vegetarian alternative (no chicken broth or bouillon) This is delicious - tweaked a bit due to other reviews, specifically blending everything to get a thicker texture of soup. Will pass along to others and make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cox Martinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. My entire family enjoyed it. Like everyone else, I made a few changes to it though. I initially sauteed the vegetables in oil to soften them. Once tender, I added my "broth." I added a total of 8 cups of "broth" - well, water, and added two chicken and one vegetable bouillon cubes. That made this soup go a lot further, and still retained the taste. I used two bunches of broccoli, and half a head of cauliflower. I also shredded in two carrots, and added 4 cloves of garlic, minced. I then used a hand blender in the pot to smooth out the soup. Next time I may leave some chunks to add a little more texture. Overall, I was very pleased with this soup, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Really good flavor. I altered slighty since we are vegetarian, used vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon. Also added some minced garlic and chopped red pepper. Used 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk. Turned out so good!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great comfort food. Quick to make and so yummy! I made a few minor changes; I left out the curry powder as I planned to feed it to my toddler (she loved it by the way!) and the bouillon granules. I also only had beef stock on hand so I used a carton of that then added water to it just until my veggies were submerged. At the end I pureed it with my hand blender to make it extra smooth and creamy. It was enjoyed by all. Did I mention that it only took 30 mins in total to prepare? I'll be making this again in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States