Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved this....although I made some changes....I sauteed the onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and some baby carrots in some evoo. Then I added 2 bunches of broccoli and a large head of cauliflower washed and cut into small pieces, added pepper, crushed thyme and a sprinkle of cayenne(didn't have any curry). I let that cook for about 5-7 minutes, then added the chicken broth(low sodium) and added an extra cup of water with a chicken boullion packet. Let that cook until the veggies were tender and then I whipped it through my food processor making sure I left some chunks for texture. Added that back to the pot, mixed 1% milk with the flour, let that thicken, adjusted the seasonings, and added 1 pk of shredded cheddar and the kernels of 1 leftover corn on the cob shaved off. (It was like I cleaned out the fridge!) What a fabulous soup!!! Nice and thick and rich with so many veggies.....even my 1 year old loved it....will make again and keep in my rotation for the fall/winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. My entire family enjoyed it. Like everyone else, I made a few changes to it though. I initially sauteed the vegetables in oil to soften them. Once tender, I added my "broth." I added a total of 8 cups of "broth" - well, water, and added two chicken and one vegetable bouillon cubes. That made this soup go a lot further, and still retained the taste. I used two bunches of broccoli, and half a head of cauliflower. I also shredded in two carrots, and added 4 cloves of garlic, minced. I then used a hand blender in the pot to smooth out the soup. Next time I may leave some chunks to add a little more texture. Overall, I was very pleased with this soup, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was fantastic soup. I made it even easier by using frozen broccoli and cauliflower. The curry was a nice touch. I'll definitely put this on a regular rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Really good flavor. I altered slighty since we are vegetarian, used vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon. Also added some minced garlic and chopped red pepper. Used 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk. Turned out so good!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Pretty darn good, I like the combine of the cauliflower/broccoli. I used fat free half and half instead of milk. Came out great. This will be a regular :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was an interesting one. I love broccoli cheese soups, and I love curry, but I guess I just don't love them together. I thought it was a wierd combo. It also didn't get very creamy, although I let it cook awhile, hoping it would thicken. Then I pureed some of, but it just gave it a wierd flourescent green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was good. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers by softening the onions in some butter and I also added chopped carrots. I coursley chopped the vegetables. I took out most of the mixture (leaving some chunks) and blended it and then put it all back in the pot. I used half/half unstead of milk. Creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My husband, who does not like soup, loved this soup!! I have made twice now in the past couple of weeks as I had an abundance of cauliflower. The first time according to directions, the second as a vegetarian alternative (no chicken broth or bouillon) This is delicious - tweaked a bit due to other reviews, specifically blending everything to get a thicker texture of soup. Will pass along to others and make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very good soup that was enjoyed by all. Next time I will chop the vegitables in a food processor. Just think the soup will become more smooth and flavorful. Definitely increase the amount of curry for more flavor...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a delicious soup! I followed the directions as written but I added extra curry powder and some garam masala spice. I also pureed the soup with a hand blender because I prefer a smooth consistency. My boyfriend took some for lunch the next day and his co-workers were asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States