Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Very good. It reminds me of broccoli cheese soup but with a little kick. I wanted it a little creamier so to get the same consistency as broccoli cheese soup, I added 1/2 cup of flour instead of 1/4 cup. I also grated a little extra cheese on top because I'm a cheese fanatic and it makes the presentation prettier. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a delicious soup! I followed the directions as written but I added extra curry powder and some garam masala spice. I also pureed the soup with a hand blender because I prefer a smooth consistency. My boyfriend took some for lunch the next day and his co-workers were asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is REALLY good...I altered it a bit, I added leek and when all the veggies were cooked I whizzed the soup with the hand held mixer until it was smooth and then put the milk and cheese in. YUM. We're having it with the roasted garlic cauliflower for dinner and it all smells divine (I've been sneaking bites of soup, too good to wait) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved this....although I made some changes....I sauteed the onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and some baby carrots in some evoo. Then I added 2 bunches of broccoli and a large head of cauliflower washed and cut into small pieces, added pepper, crushed thyme and a sprinkle of cayenne(didn't have any curry). I let that cook for about 5-7 minutes, then added the chicken broth(low sodium) and added an extra cup of water with a chicken boullion packet. Let that cook until the veggies were tender and then I whipped it through my food processor making sure I left some chunks for texture. Added that back to the pot, mixed 1% milk with the flour, let that thicken, adjusted the seasonings, and added 1 pk of shredded cheddar and the kernels of 1 leftover corn on the cob shaved off. (It was like I cleaned out the fridge!) What a fabulous soup!!! Nice and thick and rich with so many veggies.....even my 1 year old loved it....will make again and keep in my rotation for the fall/winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
A great recipe for fall and winter. The white cauliflower in my supermarket was a bit dated, so I bought orange cauliflower (same taste). It turned mostly white during cooking. I didn't have the granules, so I used buillion cubes instead. I sprinkled croutons on top for serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I can't get enough of this soup...quick, easy, and SO GOOD! Make sure to finely chop the veggies, so it comes out thick. And don't omit the curry, it is the key ingredient. Also, good with vegetable broth and bouillon. Thank you, Tim Perry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very tasty. I didn't have any cauliflower so I just used all broccoli and it was great! The curry gives it an excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Didn't think it was great. Too much cauliflower, and the base or soup part didn't seem hardy enough to support all the vegetables. Would make thicker and add a meat like shredded chicken. My kids not too crazy about it either. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
My husband, who does not like soup, loved this soup!! I have made twice now in the past couple of weeks as I had an abundance of cauliflower. The first time according to directions, the second as a vegetarian alternative (no chicken broth or bouillon) This is delicious - tweaked a bit due to other reviews, specifically blending everything to get a thicker texture of soup. Will pass along to others and make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I softened the onion in the stockpot before adding the broth and veggies. Also added the curry powder until it was how I wanted. Had it with onion paratha. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States