Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a good recipe to use up steamed cauliflower and broccoli leftovers. I sauteed the onion in a little butter before adding the chicken stock, cauliflower and broccoli. Since everything only then needed to be heated, the recipe took about 20 minutes start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was good. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers by softening the onions in some butter and I also added chopped carrots. I coursley chopped the vegetables. I took out most of the mixture (leaving some chunks) and blended it and then put it all back in the pot. I used half/half unstead of milk. Creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Really good flavor. I altered slighty since we are vegetarian, used vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon. Also added some minced garlic and chopped red pepper. Used 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk. Turned out so good!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Very nice, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. My entire family enjoyed it. Like everyone else, I made a few changes to it though. I initially sauteed the vegetables in oil to soften them. Once tender, I added my "broth." I added a total of 8 cups of "broth" - well, water, and added two chicken and one vegetable bouillon cubes. That made this soup go a lot further, and still retained the taste. I used two bunches of broccoli, and half a head of cauliflower. I also shredded in two carrots, and added 4 cloves of garlic, minced. I then used a hand blender in the pot to smooth out the soup. Next time I may leave some chunks to add a little more texture. Overall, I was very pleased with this soup, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was an interesting one. I love broccoli cheese soups, and I love curry, but I guess I just don't love them together. I thought it was a wierd combo. It also didn't get very creamy, although I let it cook awhile, hoping it would thicken. Then I pureed some of, but it just gave it a wierd flourescent green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very good soup that was enjoyed by all. Next time I will chop the vegitables in a food processor. Just think the soup will become more smooth and flavorful. Definitely increase the amount of curry for more flavor...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My family enjoyed the soup. However, I made several variations. First of all I reduced the cauliflower, as others have suggested to 50/50 with the broccoli. Added some carrots (for color)& celery. Cut all the vegtables in a food processor which eliminated a lot of chopping and pureed 1/2 of the final soup in a blended. Lastly, my household is not big on curry so we scratched the curry but added 1/2 cup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was fantastic soup. I made it even easier by using frozen broccoli and cauliflower. The curry was a nice touch. I'll definitely put this on a regular rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Well, I did this. I sauteed the onion, garlic, broccoli and cauliflower...added the quart of chix broth and let that cook for 15 min. Then I added an entire 15 ounce jar of Tostitos brand Con Queso. Blended it with the immersion blender until smooth. The kids are wolfing it down and served it with chips. Easy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States