Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was ok, needed alot more seasoning and the texture was not for me, the cheese seperated and did not look appealing, I may have done something wrong, but wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very simple recipe, yet delicious. I used low sodium chicken broth, skipped the salt, and used lowfat milk and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Thought it was good and very different. I always use evaporated milk in my soups when milk is called for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I expected to like this or I wouldn't have made it, but it really exceeded my expectations. I had quite a bit of leftover, cooked cauliflower and some uncooked broccoli rabi the I needed to cook. I started by sauting my onions and brocoli rabi in 1 tbs of butter, when the BR was wilted I transferred the vegetables to a pot of homemade chicken stock along with the cauliflower. In the pan I used to cook the onions, I made a roux and added the curry powder and when ready added enough half and half to make a slightly thick sauce, which I then added to the soup. I omitted the bouillon and added freshly ground black pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great tasting soup. I don't have a food processor so the chunks of broccoli and cauliflower were a bit big so I wound up making a puree once they were soft. I also wanted to put in more broth but accidentally put in a can of cream of chicken, which actually gave it a creamier consistency so I didn't put flour in the milk. Before I pureed it, my husband was suspicious but he really liked it. I also softened the onions in a little bit of butter and added some garlic. A great recipe for getting rid of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great soup! Added chicken, LOTS of curry powder, saute'd the onions and added a little more water. Mine turned out a little thinner than I wanted, but mostly I just wanted to eat rather than wait for it to thicken! It tasted great! Good recipe...it will go in my rotation of soups for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I ended up with a great soup after a few tweaks. I wasn't crazy about the milk/flour slurry being added at the end (hate raw flour taste), so I made a bechamel with butter, the flour, the milk, and the cheese. Frankly, I think this would be better as a cream soup - maybe with some plain yogurt to emphasize the curry - and no cheese at all, but it was also good this way. MrB loved it - and it went really nicely with Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese sandwiches from this site. Thanks for the idea and the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I only made two substitutions; I used red pepper flakes instead of the curry, and I used corn starch instead of the flour. EXCELLENT soup! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This soup is excellent! I did sautee the broccoli and cauliflower a bit first. Already added to my "soup folder". For those afraid of curry (as was I), don't be. It's a beautiful addition to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
i added beer to the recipe, it makes it take that much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbum22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States