Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Thought it was good and very different. I always use evaporated milk in my soups when milk is called for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I expected to like this or I wouldn't have made it, but it really exceeded my expectations. I had quite a bit of leftover, cooked cauliflower and some uncooked broccoli rabi the I needed to cook. I started by sauting my onions and brocoli rabi in 1 tbs of butter, when the BR was wilted I transferred the vegetables to a pot of homemade chicken stock along with the cauliflower. In the pan I used to cook the onions, I made a roux and added the curry powder and when ready added enough half and half to make a slightly thick sauce, which I then added to the soup. I omitted the bouillon and added freshly ground black pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great tasting soup. I don't have a food processor so the chunks of broccoli and cauliflower were a bit big so I wound up making a puree once they were soft. I also wanted to put in more broth but accidentally put in a can of cream of chicken, which actually gave it a creamier consistency so I didn't put flour in the milk. Before I pureed it, my husband was suspicious but he really liked it. I also softened the onions in a little bit of butter and added some garlic. A great recipe for getting rid of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great soup! Added chicken, LOTS of curry powder, saute'd the onions and added a little more water. Mine turned out a little thinner than I wanted, but mostly I just wanted to eat rather than wait for it to thicken! It tasted great! Good recipe...it will go in my rotation of soups for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I ended up with a great soup after a few tweaks. I wasn't crazy about the milk/flour slurry being added at the end (hate raw flour taste), so I made a bechamel with butter, the flour, the milk, and the cheese. Frankly, I think this would be better as a cream soup - maybe with some plain yogurt to emphasize the curry - and no cheese at all, but it was also good this way. MrB loved it - and it went really nicely with Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese sandwiches from this site. Thanks for the idea and the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I only made two substitutions; I used red pepper flakes instead of the curry, and I used corn starch instead of the flour. EXCELLENT soup! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This soup is excellent! I did sautee the broccoli and cauliflower a bit first. Already added to my "soup folder". For those afraid of curry (as was I), don't be. It's a beautiful addition to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
i added beer to the recipe, it makes it take that much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbum22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent!!!!!!!!! I used creme instead of milk used more curry as suggested.Will make again,I aint even done with my first bowl!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave420

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made a few modifications to the soup. As other reviewers suggested, I cooked the veggies in garlic and oil before adding the chicken broth. I stuck to sodium free broth, and then added salt to taste at the end. I probably more than doubled the curry powder, and also put in some garam masala. I would have used a food processor on half of the soup, but I don't own one. I think this would have given it a really nice consistency. Otherwise, I great base soup - I'll definitely make it again. I added a little extra curry powder to up the spice, and put in some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States