Tim Perry's Soup (Creamy Curry Cauliflower and Broccoli Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I really don't like it when people alter a recipe then review it but here we go anyway. When I found this recipe I was looking for a low-cal soup to use up a head of cauliflower. I had to alter this to make it low-fat but even with all the changes I made it was totally awesome. First of all I used fat-free chicken broth, then I cut the flour in half and used skim milk Finally I used the weight watchers cheese wedges in place of the high fat cheese. The results were amazing. I can only imagine how good the high-fat version would taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Absolutely loved it soup. I always add more veggies. Sometimes I use half the amount of cheese. Sometimes I make it with half parmesan and half chedder. Always a hit! My 15 year old son wants me to make it (again) for guests coming to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer eby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was ok, needed alot more seasoning and the texture was not for me, the cheese seperated and did not look appealing, I may have done something wrong, but wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very simple recipe, yet delicious. I used low sodium chicken broth, skipped the salt, and used lowfat milk and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Thought it was good and very different. I always use evaporated milk in my soups when milk is called for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I expected to like this or I wouldn't have made it, but it really exceeded my expectations. I had quite a bit of leftover, cooked cauliflower and some uncooked broccoli rabi the I needed to cook. I started by sauting my onions and brocoli rabi in 1 tbs of butter, when the BR was wilted I transferred the vegetables to a pot of homemade chicken stock along with the cauliflower. In the pan I used to cook the onions, I made a roux and added the curry powder and when ready added enough half and half to make a slightly thick sauce, which I then added to the soup. I omitted the bouillon and added freshly ground black pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great tasting soup. I don't have a food processor so the chunks of broccoli and cauliflower were a bit big so I wound up making a puree once they were soft. I also wanted to put in more broth but accidentally put in a can of cream of chicken, which actually gave it a creamier consistency so I didn't put flour in the milk. Before I pureed it, my husband was suspicious but he really liked it. I also softened the onions in a little bit of butter and added some garlic. A great recipe for getting rid of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great soup! Added chicken, LOTS of curry powder, saute'd the onions and added a little more water. Mine turned out a little thinner than I wanted, but mostly I just wanted to eat rather than wait for it to thicken! It tasted great! Good recipe...it will go in my rotation of soups for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I ended up with a great soup after a few tweaks. I wasn't crazy about the milk/flour slurry being added at the end (hate raw flour taste), so I made a bechamel with butter, the flour, the milk, and the cheese. Frankly, I think this would be better as a cream soup - maybe with some plain yogurt to emphasize the curry - and no cheese at all, but it was also good this way. MrB loved it - and it went really nicely with Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese sandwiches from this site. Thanks for the idea and the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I only made two substitutions; I used red pepper flakes instead of the curry, and I used corn starch instead of the flour. EXCELLENT soup! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States