Tim O'Toole's Famous Stuffed Quahogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chrissy
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
thanks for this recipe i am portuguese from new england and i have not had these since i moved down south ...... they tasted just like i remember ...and again thanks......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I reviewed solely based on smell, I admit it...I can't wait to eat these! I'm Portuguese and grew up in Massachusetts, whenever I had a quahog it always had linguiça (a milder Portuguese sausage ) or chouriço. I was THRILLED to find this recipe. Will review on taste tomorrow. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
serving this for dinner for the family. i love it! from n dighton mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traylene
Photo by Cazuela
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A taste of New England! I scored some big cherrystones at the Pike Place Market in Seattle, used Spanish chorizo and cornbread stuffing mix. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I've made these myself many time. The only thing I do double or triple the recipe and I also add 1# of bacon and chopped green or red pepper. Also add crushed red pepper fopr alittle extra hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm from New Bedord, MA and I have to say that these are really good. I used turkey chourico and they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Loved these!! Had them as hordourves 3 nights in a row...only changes were using linguica instead of chourico because it is milder...next time might use half of each sausage. Also, used only 3/4s of the amount of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Almost identical to the simple quahog stuffie recipe I learned as a kid, and a good base recipe to improvise with. We use either Bells stuffing or bake our own seasoned bread croutons. We finely chop the onions (or shallots) and add finely chopped bell peppers as well. Sometimes we use other types of sausage, such as Italian or Mexican. We usually press a couple garlic cloves into it. If we use canned clams, we add the clam juice and reduce the water by that much. You can basically do anything with this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These are always a hit. Careful not to add too much Linguica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Geesh This is the way to cook a good ole Fasion portuguese style stuffed quohog. You could omit the chorise and add a few pinches of crushed red pepper to taste with linguica instead of chorico. I use a 1/4 lb of fresh ground pork for flavor and fry up in a skillet with the linguica out of the casing and add to the mixture, instead of cooking the linguica in water(looses flavor. I am originally from Fall River, Ma where the true blue Portuguese peeps are from :) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States