Tim O'Toole's Famous Stuffed Quahogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Grew up in Fall River, MA. Very similar to my mom's recipe. Using Stove Top stuffing turned out to be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dave
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Just like being back home in New England! I added cranberries to the stuffing, with great result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Made them pretty much to the specs of the recipe. Had a can of clams and added them for a more seafood stuffing. They were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe! So easy to make! I followed the recipe as written but I found it a little too salty and a little too wet - I'm thinking the culprit was the stuffing mix I used (Bell's). I cut it with plain bread crumbs and that helped. Next time I will probably use unsalted butter to take a little more salt out, or will just use plain bread crumbs all the way instead of prepared stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Geesh This is the way to cook a good ole Fasion portuguese style stuffed quohog. You could omit the chorise and add a few pinches of crushed red pepper to taste with linguica instead of chorico. I use a 1/4 lb of fresh ground pork for flavor and fry up in a skillet with the linguica out of the casing and add to the mixture, instead of cooking the linguica in water(looses flavor. I am originally from Fall River, Ma where the true blue Portuguese peeps are from :) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
1.these are always a hit. Careful not to add too much Linguica. 2.Okay this time around instead of a whole onion I did half of a red onion with the other half of equal portion a mix of red and green bell pepper. also instead of linguica I used bacon with the same 16oz portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Almost identical to the simple quahog stuffie recipe I learned as a kid, and a good base recipe to improvise with. We use either Bells stuffing or bake our own seasoned bread croutons. We finely chop the onions (or shallots) and add finely chopped bell peppers as well. Sometimes we use other types of sausage, such as Italian or Mexican. We usually press a couple garlic cloves into it. If we use canned clams, we add the clam juice and reduce the water by that much. You can basically do anything with this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Loved these!! Had them as hordourves 3 nights in a row...only changes were using linguica instead of chourico because it is milder...next time might use half of each sausage. Also, used only 3/4s of the amount of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm from New Bedord, MA and I have to say that these are really good. I used turkey chourico and they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I've made these myself many time. The only thing I do double or triple the recipe and I also add 1# of bacon and chopped green or red pepper. Also add crushed red pepper fopr alittle extra hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States