Tilapia with Tomatoes, Black Olives and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I blended the tomatoes, corn, and olives with red wine vinaigrette (instead of white wine) into a thick purée, and used that as the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly from there, except to top it with basil as a garnish. It was the best meal I've had in weeks! No fishy taste, just a Mexican-like flavor that was perfectly zesty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I made this last night and the flavors were excellent. It was our opinion that you could throw a few more veggies in there if you wanted to add a little more interest and color like peppers or zucini. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This turned out really well, even though I used canned corn, canned diced tomatoes and sherry instead of white wine (I didn't have any). A HEALTHY way to cook fish! Next time I'll use less corn (My fault) and add some cilantro and/or parsley and maybe basil. I didn't have to cook the fish as long as it suggested (25 min.) - 15 was enough. Thanks for a winner, in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Loved this! The only changes I made was to add salt and lots of black pepper. I also used frozen corn rather than fresh. I felt the sauce was a little thin and soupy so maybe it would be better on rice. I reduced it before adding the fish filets. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We loved this recipe. I used canned diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano. Unfortunately I didn't have corn, will try next time. At first I thought more liquid should have cooked off (by leaving uncovered), but it turned out more like a stew. I served it in bowls topped with feta and pine nuts. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This was wonderful, the only thing we added was a spicy pepper mix. It gave the recipe a little kick. Easy to fix and quick. Serve with brown or white rice for a quick supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Wow! Thanks for the great recipe!! I served it over some couscous with a salad. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I thought this was kind of bland, but i didn't use the white wine so maybe that was it. I think the corn, tomato, olive combo was weird so next time I'll use onion, pepper, olives and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really good, I did make some changes though. I substituted rotel for one of the cans of tomatoes and chicken broth for the wine. I also used a frozen mexi-cali blend of corn and added some red pepper flakes to the top of the fish. It was so easy, I found this recipe in my e-mail when I got home from work and we were eating it within 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
There is nothing here to hold the so-called sauce together. Just canned tomatoes, wine and corn. It needs alot of help. There are better fish out there than tilapia. I use cod. Tilapia tastes like dirt to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States