Tilapia Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I rated this a 4 because when cooking the fish for @ 375 degrees 40 mins, turning it every 10 mins like directed, it was a little dry. Next time I may cook @ 350 degrees instead of 375 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is an interesting concept. I've tried most other tilapia recipes on this site and find them to all either be too similar, too complex, or not my style. 40 minutes @ 375 is WAY too much though. I could already tell just by my experience with baking tilapia and reading other reviews. I tried 35 minutes @ 350 and still found it to be too much. I don't think I'd lower the temp anymore though. I might try 350 @ 30 minutes next time around. I added 2 tablespoons of prepared dijon style mustard based on some other shrimp scampi recipes I've tried and enjoyed. I think this gave it a more interesting flavor. I also added about 2 tablespoons of white wine. I like others only flipped the fish once... at the 20 minute mark. I also placed about 3/4 of a pound of uncooked medium sized shrimp in there with the tilapia and took them out at the same 20 minute mark that I flipped the fish at. They were an 'appetizer' and they turned out perfectly cooked and very tasty. I'd probably give the original recipe a 3/5 but based on the unique concept and potential I give it 4/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
It’s painful for me to give this recipe a 1-star rating, but necessary as written, even tho’ it has the potential to be a great dish. First of all, the amount of butter and garlic is WAY overkill. Throw that amount aside and use your own judgment – a little butter, a little garlic and a squeeze of lemon. Then… 40 minutes to cook fish? If you want great, golden color and perfectly cooked fish bake it at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of your filets. And don’t bother to turn it! Not only is it unnecessary, you risk breaking it apart! I sprinkled the fish with paprika before baking for additional color, and fresh, not dried, parsley after. Also, I didn’t use tilapia (because I really hate it – tastes muddy to me). I made this with grouper, although any mild-flavored white, flaky fish would work – like cod, haddock, flounder or orange roughy. This dish, with the above changes, was much improved - nicely done, great color and appropriately seasoned. Just as with a good steak, if you’ve got a good piece of fish it really needs nothing more than salt, pepper and, with fish, a little lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very tasty recipe. I rated a four rather than five because the cooking time is way off. I set the timer for 30 minutes because 40 just seemed too long. The fish was completely cooked in under 25 minutes. I'm glad I checked it when I did or it would have been dry. I did not turn the fish, either. It isn't really necessary and can lead to breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was quite good, although I made a few minor adjustments. I cut the amount of butter in half to reduce the calories and used the juice from one lemon to keep the liquid amount about the same. I didn't have whole garlic on hand, so just used the refrigerated minced kind. The flavor was wonderful and there was still a good amount of sauce left in the pan even after reducing the butter. I would give it 5 stars, but since I felt the need to make those modifications I'm going with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Really good! I cut the butter down significantly and it turned out just fine. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes, only flipping once (I didn't want to risk them falling apart). Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This. Was. AWESOME!!! Super easy and super good. Only change I made was that I added a couple of glugs of white wine. Also, I didnt flip it at all and only had to cook mine for about 20 minutes. Super good over some angel hair pasta. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was worried because I was doubling the recipe - cooking for 7 people - and I only had four cloves of garlic. But I made it and it is SO GOOD that I can't stop eating it! There isn't going to be any leftovers! By far the best recipe I've found so far. Nice and light and doesn't cover up the delicate taste of the fish. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgaCobra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Made this tonight. Absolutely easy! One of the easiest recipes for scampi I have found. We added about 15 shrimp to this to have some variety in seafood, added about 1 tsp of lemon pepper seasoning, and the whole dish turned out fantastic. Appreciate the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I kind of adapted this to my tastes a little. I only flipped the fish over once. Twenty minutes into baking after turning the fillets over I sprinkled them with a bit of lemon pepper seasoning. Five minutes prior to the last five minutes of baking I added fresh tomato for color and a little extra flavor. This was an awesome recipe and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Nichole Montrechka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States